a lazy day

January 19, 2012

I now have two opposing opinions on whether or not I need my wisdom teeth taken out.  Yes, I still have them, they’re actually erupted and I eat with a couple of them.  They don’t hurt and they’re not causing problems — yet, which is the sticker.  What’re they going to look like in ten years?  Twenty?  Crystal ball, anyone?  I’ve not had a good couple of days dealing with this.

I also turned in the revised draft of Kitty #11:  Kitty Rocks the House.  That may be another reason I’m feeling blah.  Floundering between projects is always kind of a rough time.  How about some random distracting links?

This mirrors exactly my experience watching The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo:  In five minutes.

Here’s one of my favorite pieces of classical music:  Prokofiev’s “The Battle on the Ice.”

After the Golden Age will be out in mass market paperback in a couple of weeks.  Woo!

My brother is posting pictures of my niece, baby Emmy, on his blog.  Since people will ask:  yes, she is a huge baby.  9 lbs 14 oz, 21 inches at birth.  Rob and were both 10 lbs + at birth, so this didn’t really come as a surprise.

And now, I leave you with a quote from Lord Byron:  “Who would write, who had anything better to do?”

 

20 Responses to “a lazy day”

  1. Amy Says:

    You might consider your genetics in terms of the wisdom teeth. I have two that came through years ago but no real problems — but there’s clearly not enough room for them to come all the way in. On the plus side, my mom is in her 70s and never needed hers out, so if I had to bet, I think I won’t need mine out.

    What’s frustrating is that my childhood dentist told me years ago that there was no need to get them out so I should just wait until I was in my 30s. At which time another dentist told me that the longer you wait, the more invasive the surgery is because the roots of the bottom wisdom teeth keep growing down.

    Also a downer is that they are awkward to brush thoroughly since they’re not all the way in.

  2. WanabePBWriter Says:

    If you have not had a consultation with the oral surgeon that would do the extractions I would check that out. They would be able to tell better the risks your physiology might have (dry socket, deep roots to sinuses, and nerve lines around the mouth) If they don’t see problems in those areas I would think about getting them out of the way.
    My own had to come out and healed perfectly.

  3. LupLun Says:

    My brother had four wisdom teeth pulled when he went into the navy. Nothing wrong with them, it was just SOP. They’re essentially vestigal organs, and the armed forces thinks they’re more trouble then they’re worth. Some people get them removed just because, but I’ve heard there’s disagreement in the dental community over whether or not this is medically prudent. If you’re getting conflicting opinions, that’s probably why.

    I had one out a year ago, more or less. It got impacted (“broken”, in layman’s terms) in such a manner that there was an acute triangle of a shard angled up that stabbed my tongue whenever I tried to chew something. The procedure was not as nerve-wracking as it’s reputation implied: they dope you up on Novocaine and pull a tooth. Afterwards, you need cotton to absorb the blood for about a day, an icepack for the swelling, and antibiotics for a week or so. But there’s no pain until the Novocaine wears off, and even then some basic painkillers take care of it. The surgeon gave me a prescription for Vicodin (generic, since I was paying for all of this out of pocket), but I didn’t see what the fuss was about that either, since Advil seemed to work just as well.

    So, if you have to get it done, don’t be too worried about it. Pulling wisdom teeth is not like pulling wisdom teeth. ~_^

    -LupLun

  4. Michael Ash Says:

    I can only go from my own experience.
    Get a Xray and see if the roots are curved and if the teeth have room to grow with out hitting the jaw bone.
    Mien were impacted and I had three removed at once, curtsey of the U.S. Army.
    3.5 hours later they were out and I was a dogs breakfast.
    It was nice to lay in bed for a week doped up and eating Apple sauce and Chocolate pudding.
    There’s always a bright side to everything.🙂

    But don’t put it off getting dental work done.

  5. Amy Says:

    LupLun, you made me laugh with your final comment! 🙂

  6. carriev Says:

    Thanks for the comments, and your experiences. This is compounded by my unusual dental history in which my teeth have never really acted the way they’re expected to. I’m missing a couple of important molars already and the wisdom teeth may actually be helping me eat. Or, they could be a disaster waiting to happen. The trouble is, it’s kind of a crapshoot and we just don’t know. It’s very nerve wracking.

    I had kind of a ridiculous amount of oral surgery as a kid, trying to fix problems than never really got fixed, and part of the discovery of the last couple of days is that I may be harboring some repressed trauma over it that’s now bubbling to the surface.

    It’ll be fine in the long run, of that I have no doubt, but right at the moment I’m a bit cranky… This too shall pass.

  7. steffan Says:

    I had my wisdom teeth out at the age of 45. Unfortunately they really should have been done earlier as a front tooth is mis-aligned and that *might* not have happened if I had the wisdom teeth out earlier. The old dentist retired, the new dentist didn’t really like what he saw and was a bit more agressive about it than the old one. Full sedation dentistry with an oral surgeon. Only partly covered by insurance, but worth every bit. Not issues on the recovery

  8. Jazz Let Says:

    I have three wisdom teeth, one completely through, two partially. It is the one that is completely though that has occasionally caused problems, I have to be meticulous about making sure it’s cleaned properly round the back. Apart from that I have had no problems with them and I’m fifty one now.

    Ironically the side where I had to have a premolar extracted as it’s two companions were trying to force it back into my jaw is the one I have no wisdom tooth at all.

    It’s horrid making this sort of decision.

  9. Elyse Grasso Says:

    My wisdom teeth came in a a weird angle and were not solid — sort of crumbly. When one of them lost a corner, I had the two on that side pulled. Then a year later I had the other side done. This worked well because I always had one good side to chew with while the tender parts on the other side healed.

    (I also went to an oral surgeon because I wanted to be out completely while they did something that drastic, that far down my throat. Also, the insurance I had at the time would cover an oral surgeon but not a dentist.)

  10. Thomas Says:

    I had my wisdom teeth out when I was around 17 or 18. I think they had to get taken out because otherwise they would have come in at an angle and may not have left enough room for my other teeth. Anyways I got knocked out for them and the operation went fine.

    I’m just glad I had my dad to take care of me the rest of the day, cause I just wanted to sleep and could not eat anything until the drugs wore off mostly, which took like 6 hours after the operation was finished. I wouldn’t have even be able to make it home or make sure I got the antibiotics if it wasn’t for him.

    Slept in a recliner for a few days until the bleeding stopped, and ate ice cream, jello and pudding for 3 or 4 days. After that it I added soup and other very soft foods. Only real difficulty I had was food kept getting in the holes until they healed up so I had to flush them out with water after every time I ate.

    Funny thing was I didn’t have to wait for stitches to dissolve or anything. I had pulled them out from messing with them with my tongue within two weeks at the most.

    Good luck with dealing with your wisdom teeth, Carrie.


  11. My dentist advised having mine out simply because “they’re gonna have to go sooner or later, and you’re not getting any younger.” And the risks of anesthesia are apparently greater when you’re over 40. Something to keep in mind.

  12. Re WIlliams Says:

    Thanks for the 5 minutes of laughter.

    Oh the joy of teeth…. When my partner was a child her dentist didn’t believe in pain killers and four people held her to the chair for the drilling. To say she’s shies away from the dentist chair is an understatement.

    However, after years of searching we finally found someone she trusts enough to go for checkups.

    I hope you find a pain-free solution, whatever happens.

  13. Doruk Says:

    The most disturbing complication associated with extracting wisdom teeth seems to be the chance of permanently damaging local neurons. I remember reading somewhere that NIH and Dental Association are in disagreement about how high a risk that is, and whether that risk level is acceptable for removing teeth that are not currently causing an immediate problem.

  14. ArcLight Says:

    After several years of the Air Force dentists trying to pull mine “just because,” one finally gave me what sounded like some good reasons – a) they had only come partially thru which greatly increased the chances of cavities forming under the gum line and 2) the longer I waited, the better chance the lower ones would cause trouble with a nerve in the lower jaw. No idea if these were legit reasons but they sure sounded better than “because it’s what we do.”

    I had it done on a Wednesday, went back to the dorm, took the pain kills, woke up Thursday to a nice long 4 day weekend with absolutely no issues beyond not being able to eat real food for a few days. Didn’t even need any more pain pills.

    (oh…and during my entire time in the Air Force, that was probably the least painful dental procedure I ever had – those recent tech school grads who did all the cleanings tore me up every time)

  15. WanabePBWriter Says:

    This has garnered a lot of posts, purhaps there is a market for more dental based fiction.

    “Kitty bites the Dentist.”

  16. Michael Ash Says:

    I’ve always wondered who does a Vampires dental work?
    Is it covered by insurance?
    Do Werewolves chew milk bone dog biscuits for good teeth?
    🙂

  17. FD Says:

    Oh wisdom teeth ugh. I’m in my thirties and had one out in my twenties, an upper, due to it abscessing. after a blow to the face (equine delivered). That was pretty painless, due to it not being properly rooted in the bone (my jaws are too small) and I went back to work straight after.
    I’m currently waiting for two to be taken out – as with the poster above, they are only partially through, and have developed cavities below the gumline, occasionally food debris gets wedged in the gum and causes infections, plus intermittently they try to erupt and it’s damn painful due to there just not being enough room. The fourth has thankfully never developed, because there is seriously no space for it.

    Having them out has been a slow process, and required multiple x-rays and an MRI to work out where the nerves run – particularly in the lower jaw, as my surgeon explained to me, it’s vital to know where they run as the chance of causing facial paralysis is apparently non-trivial.
    In the UK, generally they leave wisdom teeth that are not causing pain and not obstructing other teeth well alone. After all, they can always be taken out later if problems do develop.

  18. Adam. Says:

    I’ve had one of mine out. At the time I had a tiny female dentist.

    The extraction basically consisted of half an hour or so of ineffectual pulling punctuated by sending the Dental Nurse to the other end of the building to find out if “Simon” was done with what he was doing.

    Eventually this “Simon” chap showed up. He took a look at the x-ray, he took a look in my mouth, he took a look at the x-ray, he took a look at the tray of tools, he took a look at the x-ray, he selected some evil looking pliers, he took a look at the x-ray, he took a look in my mouth, he took a grip with the evil pliers, he took a look at the x-ray, the wisdom tooth sort of fell out apparently all by itself and “Simon” was holding it in the pliers. Apparently it’s all in the preparation.

    As far as I can tell, you need a dentist that’s done lots of wisdom teeth and looks at x-rays a lot.

    Also avioid Tiny Dentists with insufficient muscle mass. 🙂

    (Surely a Kitty Universe dentist would need to be a tooth fairy)

  19. Jamss Tooley Says:

    In the Swedish film Salander is quite endearing, and all the explanation of the slander case is logical and easy to take. Plus I feel better admitting that I like those movies than admitting I like the Stephanie Meyer books and movies.


Leave a Reply

