more movies

January 14, 2012

This has been a week for catching up on the round of holiday movies.

The Adventures of Tintin

Competent, but not exciting, alas.  I fell victim to the wobbly motion-capture animation:  half the faces were hyper-realistic, half were cartoons, and I never found my balance.  It annoyed me mightily.  It’s been interesting talking to people and finding out who’s heard of the Tintin comics, who’s actually read them, who knows how immensely popular they are in other countries, and who’s never heard of them at all. I know of them, know how popular they are, but have never read them, and I wonder if I would have liked the movie better if I had.

Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy

This is a portrait of a Cold War spy agency in the process of eating its own tail, and one of its great spymasters is set to investigating his own.  It’s brilliant.  A spy thriller with no car chases or explosions, with all those great British actors who are in everything.  Gary Oldman especially is very, very good.  I had the feeling I was watching an excellent stage play, the kind where two intensely charismatic actors are alone on stage, exchanging simple lines of dialog that have about five different levels of meaning, and my heart’s in my throat waiting for everything to hit the fan.  Oh, the dialog.  I swooned.  But my friend pointed out during the closing credits that this is not a film for everyone — as the loud snoring from elsewhere in the theater during the climactic scene demonstrated.  This is a movie for people who love films like Good Night, and Good Luck, which I did, so there.

7 Responses to “more movies”

  1. Doruk Says:

    I liked the movie quite a bit, so probably having read them helps.

  2. Doruk Says:

    I mean Tintin.

  3. John Shearer Says:

    My Tintin reading started 30 years ago, and I love the comics, but I was completely underwhelmed by the film. Not early as non-stop exciting as I was hoping, and Captain Haddock’s portrayal, while true to the comics, was not what the film needed (or it needed to go bigger, if you can believe that).

  4. LupLun Says:

    The main problem I had with Tintin — besides the obnoxious cliffhanger at the end — was that it couldn’t decide whether the protagonist was Tintin or Haddock. Take the final battle, for example: Haddock fights the bad guy, redeems himself, succeeds in living up to his great-grandfather’s name. Tintin swoops in at the last minute to snatch the MacGuffin. He’s the guy with his name in the frakkin’ title, and he’s reduced to sidekick. Lame. -_-

  5. carriev Says:

    I get the impression that Tintin is something of an “adventure enabler” rather than a developed character in his own right.

    Actually, I thought the dog was mostly the hero.

  6. Adam. Says:

    I read a couple of the Tin Tin books when I was little more than a bratling.

    The only clear memory of Tin Tin that I retain to this day amounts to “I prefer Asterix”. Tin Tin seems to be more popular on Continental Europe (Fetishistically so in Belgium; They have so little in the way of Native Literature) 😉

  7. Joe Says:

    I left the theater after TTSS thinking, that is what real spies are like. And things like this probably really happened.


Leave a Reply

