travel bucket lists

January 12, 2012

I have some awesome travel plans coming up.  We’ve been having a great time hunting down places to stay in Croatia (including plans for a one-night detour to Venice, which just so happens to be a couple of hours’ drive from Pazin, where the convention is).  I’ve got my guide book, and it’s time to read up on walking tours and Roman ruins.

While I have a travel bucket list — all the places I want to visit someday — it keeps changing, because new opportunities present themselves.  Like Croatia — it wasn’t on my list, but I’m not going to pass up a chance to see the country with local guides and attend my first overseas science fiction convention.  Like Belize a few years ago — also not on my list, but the dive shop had organized the trip, I needed to finish my certification, so why not?

So my travel bucket list isn’t so much a list of specific destinations.  It’s more like a single idea:  see new places, as many as I can.

How about you?  Do you have a travel bucket list?  What’s on it?

14 Responses to “travel bucket lists”

  1. DebbieW Says:

    Since I’ve been collecting moose things (stuffed moose dolls, statues, cookie jars shaped like moose, etc.), I’d love to actually SEE one someday. I’ve never been to Alaska & would love to visit during the summer. The closest to New England I’ve been is upstate New York near the Canadian border & I’d love to see more of it all the way up to Maine (more possibilities for moose, too). The United Kingdom & Australia are dreams, too.


  2. I’ve a somewhat less than serious goal to follow James Bond, and I’ve been doing good so far…Turkey, Thailand, Egypt, most of Europe… (more details here http://www.roxanneskelly.com/2011/08/im-followin-james-bond.html)
    I’ll skip a few for the time being (North Korea, for instance), but there are plenty still on my list, including Earth orbit (Moonraker).

    Still so many more to go, but I’ve got traveling in my blood.

    The only danger? I sometimes fall in love with a place. After visiting and making friends in New Orleans, I soooo want to live there for awhile. But I love my home in Seattle too. What to do, beyond win the lottery.


  3. The only definite place I can think of is Rwanda, so that I might be able to see the mountain gorillas.

    I also wouldn’t mind revisiting New Zealand…

  4. Ty Says:

    Mars is on mine, but it’s looking less likely.

  5. carriev Says:

    Debbie: Alaska’s the place to go for Moose. I went and saw several, including twin babies!

    Ty: So if they get it so we can travel there by virtual nanobot would that count?


  6. Australia. The pyramids. Germany, to see the place where I was born (but have no memory of). Moscow, which I became fascinated with when researching the city for a novel.

  7. Re WIlliams Says:

    My Mom wants to through hike the Appalachian Trail. I’d do sections with her, but I’m on the wrong continent. I wish I could take a 6 month holiday but ….

    Very soon I hope we take a backpacking trip in Europe. We’re looking into Hadrian’s Wall in England or some of the cabin-to-cabin hikes here in Norway. Hopefully we’ll do the Hardangervidda (a big plateau) this summer. ( http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hardangervidda )

    I still have to get to Greece. Other than that if it’s out-of-doors I’m happy. I just saw a documentary about nature reserves in Croatia. It looks lovely, enjoy it!


  8. China, Tibet, Nepal. I’d also like to ride my motorcycle from the source of the Mississippi to the mouth. I also want to go see Liberty Leading the People which is currently in the Louvre.

  9. Darkavich Says:

    I have mine posted online:

  10. Darkavich Says:

    I have mine posted online:

    http://www.yourservice.com/blog/?page_id=88

    (sorry about the double post)

  11. Ann Says:

    WordPress ate my first attempt at a reply, so I’ll keep this short.

    Every since I was a little girl, I’ve wanted to visit a certain family in Osaka, Japan. I would also like to experience as many Japanese temples, shrines, or dojos as possible.

    In Europe, I would hit spots in France, Germany, and the British Isles to research my ancestry, and go to Croatia to visit friends.

    Have a wonderful trip, Carrie!

  12. FD Says:

    Well, there are lots of things I’d like to see, but top of the list for unreasoning longing (since reading John William Burgon’s poem at 13) is Petra, the Rose City.


  13. […] there seems to be a sudden uptick in travel bucket list posts. Just type “travel bucket list” into Google and see over 5 million web entries; only […]


  14. No bucket list for me. I pretty much want to see everything, eat and do much (not all), and so forth.


Leave a Reply

