movies I’m looking forward to

January 2, 2012

After something of a lackluster year for movies I was really excited about (Captain America and Sherlock Holmes were about it), 2012 is shaping up to be super-awesome.  (Links go to trailers.)

The Avengers.  My favorite superhero movies of the last five years all in the same movie, directed by Joss Whedon.  I could explode.

GI Joe: Retaliation.  They made another one!  They made another one!  The Rock as Roadblock!  Flint and Lady Jaye!  I can be twelve years old forever!

Prometheus.  Ridley Scott has made some of the greatest science fiction movies of all time (Alien, Blade Runner), and now he’s back in the genre.  I don’t care if it’s a prequel, I don’t care what it’s about, I’m going to see this.  It’s got spaceships.

The Hunger Games.  The trailer for this impressed the hell out of me.  Crunchy, far-future, dystopian SF FTW.  Confession:  I haven’t read the book, it’s been on my “to read” pile forever.  I think I may wait until after the movie, now, so I can go into it fresh.

The Hobbit.  This goes without saying, doesn’t it?

8 Responses to “movies I’m looking forward to”

  1. sef Says:

    Also Cabin in the Woods. Just because it’s Joss.

    (I watched Tucker and Dale vs Evil this past weekend and enjoyed it immensely.)

  2. carriev Says:

    Ha, John Carter falls in the “I really want to see this but it’s going to really piss me off” category… I’m going to be sure to have a couple of margaritas before.


  3. Haven’t seen the new Sherlock Holmes movie, but Hugo more than made up for that.


  4. Carrie, please read the Hunger Games books…don’t wait. Read them to get ready for the movie🙂

  5. David Bowles Says:

    I think that Ridley Scott wanted to attempt to get the last word in on the “Alien” universe that he created. It has been drug through the mud enough.

  6. Berni Says:

    I liked the Captain America movie. I’m sorry that they are not going to have the Wasp in the Avengers movie. If they want to be sexist and have just one female super-hero, it should be the Wasp, who was in it from the beginning. Having both women in the movie would be awesome.

    Ditto for urging you to read the Hunger Games books. In our local paper, they are having a contest asking for people to submit recipes based on the books.

  7. Doruk Says:

    Did you see Tintin? It was awesome! Although I grew up with that comic so I am probably biased (best swordfight in my recent memory, though).


Leave a Reply

