on being a fan

December 29, 2011

Being a fan of something is great, because when you’re geeking out over your thing, you’re happy.  Because all you have to do is stick that DVD in the player, read that book, watch that game, or listen to that song and you’re happy.  You’re part of a community that understands why that thing makes you happy and doesn’t make fun of you for it.

Being a fan is a little like being in love.  You’re full of joy and euphoria, and everything is beautiful.  But being a fan can make you vulnerable, because you’re not in control of the thing you love.  If the thing you love changes too much or does something horrible, you might feel like your heart is breaking.  Fortunately, the stakes are low, and you can always go back to the books and DVDs and music or whatever that you fell in love with in the first place (which you can’t do when the person you love breaks your heart).

Being a fan of something can get you through the day when you feel like everything else in your life is falling apart.  And that’s why being a fan of something — Buffy, Harry Potter, football, curling, miniature horses, anything — is important.

7 Responses to “on being a fan”

  1. Andrew Says:

    I never thought of it that way, but you’ve put it really well. If you don’t post again this year, have a very Happy New Year.

  2. Slater Stone Says:

    I’m a fan of Carrie Vaughn’s writing. I really hope she doesn’t let us down. No pressure of course… Happy New Year!

  3. David Bowles Says:

    I am certainly a fan of your writing; however, I will never be as invested into “fandom” after Lucas made me *hate* the Star Wars franchise with the indescribably bad prequels. Maybe “The Hobbit” will renew my faith in prequels.

  4. Woad Hayes Says:

    To completely plagiarise part of the lumberjack song: “I’m an otaku and that’s okay!”

    Seriously though, any anime, manga, or merchandise related to anime or manga set off my geek alarms. I am, of course, a fan of various forms of literature, but there’s something about the latest Natsuki Takaya-sensei or Shirow Masamune-sensei (my two personal favorites) that really gets me hyped up.

  5. Gillian Says:

    Thirding the Happy New Year!
    I just started rereading the Kitty books in order for the third time, though I have read some more than twice.

  6. Janice Says:

    I am a fan of something and my heart was broken recently. I even suspected it was coming, yet that didn’t stop the sadness. Being in the minority with these feelings makes it even harder, but I realize we are all fans in our own way. Like you said, though, I can go back to the old stuff and be happy again. And I am.

  7. DebbieW Says:

    I know what you mean, Carrie! Having rediscovered fandom a few years ago (had to care for my late mother-in-law for quite some time, leaving little time or money for conventions & such), I’ve made many new friends that have brought a new joy to my life & new worlds of fandom to explore. At the top of that list is the friend who told me about “Kitty & The Midnight Hour” even though I had gotten so depressed that I’d given up reading. I got sucked into Kitty’s world with sheer delight & have been along for the ride ever since. Impressed with your writings & your recommendations, I just downloaded “Leviathan Wakes” to my Nook, even though I haven’t read anything truly close to space opera in decades! Happy 2012!


Leave a Reply

