what is the internet for, if not for this?

December 23, 2011

I’m a few weeks late on this, but I’m going to talk about it anyway:  the Justin Bieber “Santa Claus is Coming to Town” steampunk video.  So a friend sent me an email about this thing promising that it would “break my mind.”  He was right, it did, but not in the way I expected.  I mean, yeah, the existence of this thing is kind of hysterical.  But the real reason my mind broke is because I kind of like the video.  I know, right?  It’s upbeat, steampunky, happy, even if I do have to watch Justin Bieber.  Except that the music is so entirely inappropriate for the video’s concept.  That’s what really left me scratching my head.  The music is bubblegum pop, and it just doesn’t fit the setting, the outfits, the style, anything.  Weird.

So I fixed that by turning the video to mute and playing Unextraordinary Gentlemen’s “Open Arms Empty Air” instead.  (It’s only a tad disconcerting, that you start to expect Santa Claus to leap from his airborne sleigh…)

5 Responses to “what is the internet for, if not for this?”

  1. Peter Sursi Says:

    OK, it was disturbing how well “Open Arms, Empty Air” went with that video.

  2. katieb Says:

    I tried that. It was WAY BETTER than listening to the pop music.


  3. Hahaha! Yeah, a little bit of a mismatch there; I enjoyed it with the UG song though.

    Truthfully, I was distracted more than anything by Justin’s pants. Rather than seeing the (highly impractical) crotch-at-knees trend go away, some clever fashion designer decided to just create pants that have a crotch a mile away from the waistline. I guess at least this way we won’t be constantly exposed to 17 year old plumber’s crack.😛

  4. carriev Says:

    Ha! I was hoping someone would actually have the patience to edit him out…


Leave a Reply

