Sherlock Holmes: A Game of Shadows

December 19, 2011

I stand by everything I said in my review of the first Sherlock Holmes.  If the second one is perhaps not as wonderful as the first, part of that is because we’ve seen this world before, and can’t be as surprised and delighted as we were on that first trip.

***SPOILERS***

That said, this movie has some really marvelous set pieces and character moments.  I love Mary, Mycroft was odd.  There’s a really epic action sequence full of torture, explosions, terror, giant bombs and machine guns and howitzers and fascinating cinematography, and I sat there thinking, “My goodness, this is just the bottom of the second act, how are they going to top this in the third?’  Well, the third act opens with a view of a giant, epic waterfall.  Yes, they go there, and do a really nice job of it.

***END SPOILERS***

I love how the two questions people are asking about this is 1) is it Sherlock Holmes? and 2) is it really steampunk?  I’m coming to think that both answers are subjective, in the eye of the beholder.  If it’s not entirely steampunk, it is chock full of weird tech and the implications of said weird tech, that plays a part in the plot and isn’t set dressing.  If it isn’t entirely steampunk, it pushes some of the same buttons, surely.

Trailer Madness:

GI Joe: Retaliation.  Hahahaha!  They’re doing another one!  I love it!  Ninjas on mountaintops, Cobra in the White House!  Geekout!

4 Responses to “Sherlock Holmes: A Game of Shadows”

  1. sef Says:

    I didn’t like it as much; I found it quite disappointing. (I’m curious how I’d have felt if they had been released the other way around.)

    The trailer made me want to see GIJoe 2. Which is pretty impressive, given that I laughed my way through the first one (and it wasn’t supposed to be funny!), but that’s Dwayne Johnson and Bruce Willis for you.

  2. Bee Says:

    I absolutely loved the second movie, if perhaps a tiny bit less than the first. I got my sick kicks from the whump of Holmes, but the greatness in my opinion really comes from his relationship with Watson.
    I’m a big fan of the BBC version, but I honestly just adore these movies for the ‘old married couple’ vibes that Watson and Holmes give off. I could probably watch RDJ and Jude Law read the phone book to each other whilst giggling and still get a kick out of it. Especially RDJ.


  3. I just watched it over the weekend and thoroughly enjoyed it. I also like the open ending which could suggest a return of a certain nasty fellow (trying to avoid the spoilers here).

    Our trailers included the new Batman (my kids: “I WANNA SEE THAT”; me too), Battleship (my kids: “I WANNA SEE THAT”; me: *facepalm*) and John Carter (everyone: “I WANNA SEEEEEEE THAT!”).

  4. Nan Says:

    I liked the new Sherlock Holmes movie, but I wasn’t thrilled with it. I was really disappointed with how under-utilized Noomi Rapace was. “I will read your fortune. I miss my brother. Follow me through the woods . . .” Sim was more of a plot device than a character.

    Rapace was amazing in the Swedish “Girl With The Dragon Tattoo” movies, but Sherlock had me questioning her acting abilities. I think she’s probably a better actress than this movie would illustrate, and it seems like such a waste of an opportunity. That said, though, this movie isn’t about her. It’s about Holmes and Watson and Moriarty.

    I did like Mary Watson, though. She was clever and strong, and her ability to stand up to Holmes was wonderful. Stephen Fry as Mycroft? Fantastic.


Leave a Reply

