I’m back

November 19, 2011

I’ve been away.  My Grandma Vaughn passed away last week and I went to Alabama for the funeral.  She was 94 and very ill, and she really is at peace now.  I’m back home and trying to get back to normal.

I should also mention my parents and I drove to Alabama, from Colorado.  I know what you’re thinking:  why on Earth did we drive?!  Long story.  Suffice to say I spent a very long time in a car this week with my parents, whom I love dearly, but still.  I need to thank XM Sirius radio’s “First Wave” station — all 80’s alternative all the time, pure bliss for an 80’s kid like me — for making the trip much easier for me (I don’t know about my parents…).  See, I tricked my folks into leaving it on through most of the trip.  I switched it there during my shift driving (driver picks the music, see) and failed to point out that nobody switched it back after my shift was up.  Neat, huh?  Actually, Dad tried to change the channel during “Rock Me, Amadeus,” and I cried like a kid who’d lost her ice cream cone, so he changed it back.  Anyway, that gave me nearly four days of Depeche Mode, Simple Minds, Thompson Twins, OMD, Duran Duran, the Pretenders, Eurythmics,Talking Heads, Elvis Costello,  Soft Cell (extended version!), Alphaville, Echo and the Bunnymen, Clash, Erasure, Cure, INXS, XTC, Psychedlic Furs, Roxy Music, a song by Frankie Goes to Hollywood that was not “Relax,” one by Bow Wow Wow that wasn’t “I Love Candy,” the German version of “Der Kommissar,” which I’m certain I’ve never heard before, and so on.

You get the idea.

15 Responses to “I’m back”

  1. Master Tadhg Says:

    I suppose four days of Mozart would have stressed your soul unduly. *sigh* These kids today….

  2. Ian Says:

    I’m sorry about your grandma, but 4 days of awesome music is awesome.

  3. ArcLight Says:

    Sorry about your grandmother. Seems to be too many people passing on lately around here.

    I remember spending school lunch period with a guy in our group who was desperately trying to suss out the German lyrics to “Der Kommissar” even tho we had no German classes or books on German or….

    Then when I moved to Germany, I never bothered to look in to it. Oh well….

  4. Jaws Says:

    Would your parents have, perhaps, thought cover versions of ’80s tunes (and others) in ’30s style were better? Since you mentioned Soft Cell, we’ll start there…






  5. I’m sorry about your grandmother. *hugs*

    Yeah, I’d probably cry too if someone interrupted me from listening to “Rock Me, Amadeus.”

  6. Mom Says:

    It wasn’t so bad!

  7. musicalmom Says:

    Condolences on the loss of your grandmother.


  8. You’d never heard the German version of “Der Kommissar?” Really? I actually kinda prefer it.

    As for the Frankie song–“Two Tribes?” Just a guess.

  9. carriev Says:

    Thanks for the condolences.

    No, Mom, it wasn’t that bad. But it makes a good story. 🙂

    Jaws: I posted about Max Raabe in my steampunk music post last week!

    Matt: Yes, it was “Two Tribes.” 🙂

  10. Todd Says:

    Sorry for your grandmother’s passing. I’m glad you and your family made it back safely.

    Music seems to make pretty much everything better, especially long road trips. When I was a kid, our family drove from Boise to Tennessee in a tiny Toyota Tercel, with my two sisters and me crammed in the back seat. For the next couple of weeks we listened to cassette tapes of soundtracks, such as “Pete’s Dragon”, as well as “The Sound of Music” and “Fiddler On the Roof”. To this day, whenever I hear that music, the trip and it’s memories rush back into my mind.

    I’d have much rather listened to 80’s tunes, I have to admit. Loverboy and Def Leppard would have made things so much cooler! But just as crowded…..

  11. carriev Says:

    When we were kids on roadtrips, we listened to Star Wars read-along storybooks. “When you hear R2-D2 beep, it’s time to turn the page!” Loved it.

  12. Jakk Says:

    First, my deepest condolences on your loss. I wish her peace and you my best wishes.

    Second, your taste in music is a LOT like mine. That station would be pure heaven, and i have one similar to it, as well a friend who is a professional DJ who plays the exact same music when he works.

    Have you thought of Internet radio? Some stations even allow you to program the styles of music, and let remove certain songs or make suggestions based on what you liked before.

    I still have my photo cover 45 single of Rock Me Amadeus.🙂

  13. Joe Burkholder Says:

    I gotta get me some satellite radio…it would make car trips easier, as I have everything you listed on CD (and in some cases, cassette or LP). Sorry about your grandmother, Carrie. (Incidentally, Falco died in’98, so you could have told the folks it was a ‘in memoriam’ listen to “Rock Me Amadeus”. Woulda saved some hanky.)

  14. Nonny Says:

    My condolences for the loss of your grandma. {{{{{Carrie}}}}}

    Driving home from Albuquerque last year, I happened to be listening to Jefferson Airplane. As I drove over the river
    back into California, I was singing along, “Feed your head! Feed your head!” LOL I’ve never done drugs, but still. Must be a generational thing.

  15. Re WIlliams Says:

    Sorry to hear about your grandmother.

    Thank you for teaching me about the music I grew up with but never listened to until I was grown up.


Leave a Reply

