Kitty: 10 years in print

November 14, 2011

Summer 2001 issue: Kitty's first time in print

Earlier this year I was talking with Rose, who does the programming at MileHi Con, and we realized that this year is the tenth anniversary of the publication of the first Kitty story in Weird Tales.  It got enough good feedback that I wrote a second story, and a third, then the novel — and, well, the rest, as they say…  I tweaked and adapted that first story, “Doctor Kitty Solves All Your Love Problems,” to make it a chapter in the first novel, so if you’ve read Midnight Hour you’ve read the story.  But that’s where it all started.

It’s kind of a trip to think how much has happened in the last ten years.  The Weird Tales sale was only my third or fourth short story sale, and I was thrilled because I’d been trying to get into the magazine for years.  But I had absolutely no idea how this character would launch my career as a novelist just a few years later.

Also, this means that Kitty and Conan the Barbarian have something in common, because they both got their start in Weird Tales.  Cool, huh?

At MileHi Con,  we had a mini celebration of Kitty’s tenth anniversary.  Rose provided the cake, with an imaginary book cover (artwork by Laura Givens):

Thanks, Rose & Laura.

(And yes, the wolf on the cake is eating a picture of me on a cake.  Dizzy yet?)

13 Responses to “Kitty: 10 years in print”

  1. Rowan Says:

    That cake has so much awesome in it it’s ridiculous!
    The BPV is also awesome (as a Castle fan myself). Must limit viewing…

    Congratulations on 10 years!
    Hopefully there’ll be lots more.

    (and to think, my daughter just turned 10 last month – there’s perspective)

  2. Jim Van Pelt Says:

    Rose and Laura our heroes!

  3. missraye Says:

    awesome cake! but even more awesome? YOU! Congrats! Here’s to more and more success!

  4. Sandra Says:

    Ten years of hard work, and I read them all in a matter of a few weeks.

    That is a great cake.

    So…when’s the next one coming out? 😉


  5. Congratulations! Also, that is indeed one awesome cake.

  6. LupLun Says:

    I… would feel very, very awkward eating a representation of myself. It does look delicious, though. Hope it tickled your taste buds tempestuously. ^_^


  7. That. Rocks.

    Congrats, kiddo! So proud of you.


  8. wickedcoolflight reblogged this on wickedcoolflight and commented: Kitty info…


  9. Fantastic. Congratulations, Carrie!

  10. Nonny Says:

    Congratulations!

  11. carriev Says:

    I have to admit, the me on a cake thing was kind of weird. I ended up taking the piece with my face on it away so no one else would get it.

  12. Adam. Says:

    Auto-Cannibalism in cake form.

    I’m sure Freud would have had something to say about that.


Leave a Reply

