Library talk this Saturday

November 3, 2011

On Saturday, at 2 pm, I’ll at the Schlessman Family Branch Library as part of their Colorado Authors Series.  I’ll read from some work and answer questions, generally ramble on like I normally do at these things.

I’ve been catching up on new TV shows.  I’ve seen the pilots for “Grimm” and “Once Upon a Time.”  I’m going to try to catch “American Horror Story” next, and I’ll report back on what I think.  The first two, at least, bear a remarkable resemblance to the current urban fantasy book genre, and I find this fascinating.

3 Responses to “Library talk this Saturday”

  1. Jakk Says:

    Since i do know you have a bit of comic book knowledge, what do you think of the fact two folk-tale based series starting at the same time, and their relationship to the DC/Vertigo series Fables.

    I just have a sneaky thought in my head that tells me that during a convention, probably SDCC one or two years ago, people were talking about Fables and why its not a tv show, and decided to do their own version rather than option the comic instead.

  2. carriev Says:

    I’m old enough to remember “The Charmings,” an insipid sit com from the eighties with exactly this plot: Snow and Prince Charming are stuck in reality when the evil queen casts a spell on them. Also “The Tenth Kingdom” miniseries from the 90’s. And the movie “Enchanted” from a few years ago. This idea’s been around a long time. These shows are different enough from Fables that I’m not willing to draw a straight line between them.

  3. Kenyatta Says:

    My husband and I agree that the couple living in the “murder house” aren’t good ppl…I like the wife at least. What is really interesting are the ghosts and that house..every week we tune in to explore their stories and see how they interact w/ each other and the living. Of course a fun game when your watching is to guess who’s dead and who’s actually alive..it’s harder than you think.


Leave a Reply

