Dark Streets and messy crafts

October 5, 2011

There’s a new anthology out this week: 

Down These Strange Streets, edited by George R. R. Martin and Gardner Dozois.  My story, “It’s Still the Same Old Story,” is about Rick, and takes place in 1946 and now.  (I realized halfway through writing it that I was structuring it exactly like an episode of Highlander the TV series.  Though I don’t picture Rick looking very much like Adrian Paul.)  I read the beginning of this at a bunch of events this summer, and now you can read about what happens next.

 

 

 

 

 

So, when was the last time you did paper mache?  This is one of the reasons I’m so happy to be in the new place:  I never would have tackled a big, messy, space-consuming project like this in the old place.  What am I making?  Well, you’ll just have to wait and find out when it’s finished…

 

 

 

6 Responses to “Dark Streets and messy crafts”

  1. LupLun Says:

    Looks like balls. Apparently inert.

    You know, I remember you comparing Rick to Duncan MacLaod in the KGH author’s notes. Maybe he’s just coming full circle? ^_^


  2. wickedcoolflight reblogged this on wickedcoolflight and commented: Two of my favorite authors have a new anthology out this week.

  3. Thomas Says:

    Sounds like an interesting story and anthology. I’ll have to check it out.

    Big mess projects are fun! Just gotta have the room to make sure they don’t get anything you want to keep nice messy.

  4. Adam. Says:

    Frank Sidebottom ?

    Unlikely but it was the first thing that came to mind.
    (and I bet I got the syntax for putting the link in wrong?)

  5. carriev Says:

    Nope… I’ll post pictures when it’s done. It’s looking like it’ll turn out pretty well, so I’ll be willing to share…


  6. […] now, I reveal what I was doing with the paper mache a couple of weeks ago:  my Halloween costume!  I wore it at an SCA Halloween party Saturday, and […]


Leave a Reply

