links!

October 3, 2011

A week or so ago I mentioned some issues I’ve been having with my voice.  Specifically, after doing about 16 public speaking events between April and September, I kind of lost my voice, or at least was unable to speak without pain.  So, if you saw me at Bubonicon or Coppercon, and I looked like I was struggling a bit, I probably was, and I apologize for being distracted.

When the pain continued a couple of weeks after my last event, I went to the doctor.  I wrote about the whole thing, and the good prognosis, over at Genreality.  Basically, I wore myself out, and I’ve got some work to do to make my voice stronger and healthier so that this doesn’t happen again.  I don’t know how campaigning politicians do this day after day, but I’ve begun to suspect that many of them must have voice coaches on staff, and just don’t tell anyone, in order to maintain the illusion.

In other news, there’s an interview with me over at Amazon’s Omnivoracious blog.  I talk about ambivalence, short stories, and advice for urban fantasy authors who want to break in.

12 Responses to “links!”

  1. Doruk Says:

    I teach and lecture occasionally, and my throat is often sore afterwards. The voice coach thing is very likely.

  2. Jim Van Pelt Says:

    Hi, Carrie. Every once in a while when I’m talking (mostly in front of a class, and especially if I’m emotionally involved in what I’m saying) my voice will just quit. No soreness. Almost no warning. I’ll just be unable to speak at all. This can last for up to ten minutes, and then I’m no good for more than a whisper for a half hour beyond that. As you can guess, it scared the hell out of me the first time, and the kids in the class I was teaching thought I was having a stroke.

    I went to the doctor, and he told me, after some tests, that I had “preacher’s throat.” I’d spent years on the pool deck, coaching, and during that time, with all the loud instructions, I’d developed nodes, sort of like scar tissue, on my vocal chords. If my voice is strained, the vocal chords relax to protect themselves. No voice.

    I have to baby myself when I’m in a situation where I’m talking non-stop, like the first day of school, or while teaching a day-long workshop.

    You have my sympathies!

  3. Jim Van Pelt Says:

    chords = cords

    sheesh!

  4. Slater Says:

    That’s gotta suck. Hope you feel better soon!

    On a lighter note, do you think Kitty will ever suffer from that on her radio show or do werewolf vocal cords heal too quickly for that?

  5. Dave K (H-Town, Tejas) Says:

    Most ploiticos are either satan-spawned or have done some Faustian Pact to get to where they are now. The health of their voice is of little concern. More important is the health of my ears and of my bank account from the ill-effects of all of their insipid and inane blather.

  6. Dave K (H-Town, Tejas) Says:

    Back in my “church choir” days one primary therapy was to gargle with a warm saline solution.

  7. carriev Says:

    Jim — there are so many professions that involve lots of talking, I’m surprised I don’t hear more about this! That’s why I got scoped at the doctor, to see if I had developed nodes or callouses. I hadn’t, which made everyone happy…

    The doctor said that she saw a lot of cheerleaders with damaged voices…

  8. ArcLight Says:

    My new job involves a lot more talking than before and I’m starting to notice some issues myself. As a very wise man once said, “If it aint one thing, it’s another.”

  9. WanabePBwriter Says:

    As a telephone customer service professional 20+ years, I have had good results from a gargle with hot water, honey, lemon, and a dash of Cayenne pepper.

  10. Thomas Says:

    Sorry to hear that Carrie. Take care of your voice and I hope you get to feeling better soon!

    I think I’ve started noticing some soreness of my voice/throat myself. What with having to answer questions a lot throughout the day and talking with supervisors to keep them informed of the status of projects. Or working around problems, ect.

    I know if nothing else I need to start drinking a lot more water than I do at work.

    Feel better soon Carrie!

  11. Nonny Says:

    Glad to hear you don’t have nodes or calluses. Will you be doing vocal exercises? I’m at my best when I remember to vocalize every day.

  12. carriev Says:

    Yep, I’m doing exercises…


Leave a Reply

