on a Saturday

September 17, 2011

I’m off to BrethrenCon in a few minutes.  I fear my “talk like a pirate” muscles are out of practice, so I may just “talk like an author whose voice still hasn’t entirely recovered.”  (I’m seeing someone about it.  More on that later.)

Via Jay Lake, a link to Forbes list of “The Ten Happiest Jobs.”  I looked for “author” on the list — and yes, it’s there, as I suspected it would be.  Because as much as my writer friends and I bitch about the business, most of us wouldn’t trade our jobs for anything at all.  Not even a gold-plated unicorn carrying sacks of gold.  Do also scroll down to see the “Ten most hated jobs.”  As part of my encouragement kick: when a kid in your life tells you they want to be a writer or artist, and you tell them they should have “something to fall back on” (like, say, one of those jobs on the “most hated” list), what you’re actually telling them is that money is more important than happiness.  Just sayin’.

8 Responses to “on a Saturday”


  1. My 8 year old, Lady K, wants to be a writer. She’s good, I encourage her. Daddy isn’t so sure and does the something to fall back on, but she’s listening to me.

  2. Kat Says:

    “when a kid in your life tells you they want to be a writer or artist, and you tell them they should have “something to fall back on” (like, say, one of those jobs on the “most hated” list), what you’re actually telling them is that money is more important than happiness. Just sayin”

    Yes! This. Thank you.

  3. Woad Hayes Says:

    I’ve wanted to be both, a writer and an artist. I’ve honed my writing skills for years, and I’ve taught myself technique after technique for drawing, in the hopes that I could gain entrance to an art school. Two things happened constantly as I grew up:

    My folks shrugged off anything I made artistically as “cute” or “interesting”, which was a little discouraging.

    My teachers, folks, siblings, and friends all suggested I go for a career in something with substance and opportunity.

    Kinda makes you second-guess your own creative abilities. It took an art teacher in high school telling me “I really can’t teach you anything, you already know it. Can you help me out with the class?” to reignite my ambition. I still have no idea how exactly I’m going to do it, but I will write, and I will create. Those are my goals.

    /end feel-good rant of the day.

  4. carriev Says:

    It took me a long time to figure out that when people around you suggest you should do something other than art, they’re not commenting *at all* on your ability. They’re not being at all personal. What they’re saying is people that they know, people like them, don’t do that sort of thing. Most of them don’t know any writers or artists. *Real* people aren’t writers or artists. Weird people that you read about in magazines are writers and artists. Therefore, since they know you, you can’t possibly be one.

    I still run into people from my past, who’ve known for years that I’m a working writer, who look on me with amazement and awe and comment about how incredible it is that I’m doing what I’m doing what I’m doing.

    It has nothing to do with my ability. For them, it’s like meeting a rock start or lottery winner.

  5. Berni Says:

    Hey, I hate my job and it’s on the list of the 10 most hated! (Electronics technician) Somehow that makes me feel better. (And I at least do not hate the people I work with. My co-workers are fine. It’s the corporate culture and the hours that are bad.)

  6. David Bowles Says:

    I know someone who was actually on a an old school eastern European communist committee ( a local one, nothing huge), but she claims that the corporate culture here in the states is EVEN WORSE for making people fall in line and white washing dissenting opinions.

    My job was not on either list, but since I’m in science and I live in America, sometimes I want to curl up in a fetal ball in the corner and wish myself back to when the citizenry believed scientists.

    Oh, and I was in IT before I went back to school, and yes it sucks. It seems like my nemeses are business majors in every phase of my life. :0

  7. carriev Says:

    I hear my friends’ stories of dealing with corporate bureaucracy and it makes me SO HAPPY to be self employed. I have to deal with publishers but I can always tell them NO and walk away if I have to (which I’ve done…).

  8. Slater Says:

    My definition: A good job is where you can find time to read Carrie Vaughn’s blog while “at work”. I have a good job…


Leave a Reply

