Kitty’s Greatest Hits

August 11, 2011

Next week, Kitty’s Greatest Hits, my very first short story collection, will be released into the wild!  I’ve had some questions about this, which I will now answer, and convince you that you must have this book.

  • Kitty’s Greatest Hits contains 14 stories, two of which have never been seen before.  Wooo!  So, for those of you who worried that buying this would mean buying all the same stories you’ve already read over again, have no fear.  This has new stuff.
  • One of the new stories is “Long Time Waiting,” aka “Here’s what happened to Cormac in prison.”
  • You probably haven’t read all the stories anyway, even if you’ve gotten every anthology I’ve ever appeared in, because a couple of them were published years ago in magazines that are really hard to find now.  Especially “Looking After Family,” which tells the story of Cormac and Ben at age 16 hunting their first werewolf.  You want to read this story.
  • The collection is available in both hardcover and trade paperback.  The hardcover edition is a small print run mostly intended for libraries and collectors.  Most stores will have the trade paperback.  Oh, and there’s also an e-book edition.
  • I’ve included a big section of author notes talking a little bit about where each story came from and where it fits on the whole Kitty-world timeline.
  • There is a playlist.
  • Other stories include Rick’s and T.J.’s origin stories.
  • Kickass cover.
  • Are we excited yet?

21 Responses to “Kitty’s Greatest Hits”

  1. Veronica Says:

    I won a special advance copy and it is fabulous!!

    All the stories are great and it is cool to see the characters more fully rounded out and learn what happened to Cormac🙂. And the historical portions (trying not to spoil anything) are creative – makes you think a bit on what might have really happened.

  2. Riva Laughlin Says:

    I’m definitely excited. I have this on pre-order and will be waiting with bated breath for it to download on my Kindle next week. It will be my commute read that morning!

  3. LadySilverRose*Wolf Says:

    We are very excited, and have had it on pre-order since March!

    I haven’t read any of the stories before – partly because I’m fussy about buying anthologies {many authors ideas on Werewolves just don’t reconcile with mine}, and partly because some things are harder to find here in the UK – so I’m really looking forward to seeing where all this ‘extra info’ fits in.

    Ooo… I finished “Kitty’s Big Trouble” last week, and really enjoyed it {raced through, as usual!}.
    I’m going to be cheeky and recommend what I’m now reading: Gail Carriger’s “Parasol Protectorate” quintet. She’s blended the supernatural with steam punk…

  4. darrell troth Says:

    Yeah. It’s mine.

  5. Sean Eric Fagan Says:

    Apparently, yes, we are excited😉.

  6. Raye Says:

    Are we excited? Color me all kinds of excited!!!😀

    Sweet news.. pretty soon I’ll have a Carrie Vaughn shelf (i have wide shelves btw)

  7. ArcLight Says:

    Carrie Vaughn? Check. Kitty? Check. Excited? Check yeah!!

  8. Jakk Says:

    Oh HECK yes. Your name pretty much means “BUY on sight”. I am hoping to find a Hardcover copy. Thanks again!


  9. […] Carrie Vaughn Talks Kitty’s Greatest Hits Tags: carrie vaughn, kitty norville, Werewolves […]

  10. Shara @ Calico Reaction Says:

    I was fortunate enough to get a hold of an ARC and enjoyed it quite a bit. I splurged and ordered the hardcover off of Amazon!🙂

  11. Carol Says:

    Kitty’s Big Trouble only just arrived at my local bookstore last week (Vancouver, BC). Hoping that this volume arrives in a more timely manner. Supporting my local bookstore is getting more difficult and frustrating…

  12. Thomas Says:

    I just pre-ordered the hardcover from Amazon last week and it looks amazing! I can’t wait.

    Even better it was an awesome excuse for me to finally use the Amazon card I got for my birthday!

    The cover does indeed look kickass! As others have said, “buy on sight!” Can’t wait for it!


  13. Had it on pre-order since February, and apparently Chapters decided I’d waited long enough. It just arrived yesterday.🙂

  14. Rebecca Says:

    I’ve been excited since you first mentioned this… ^_^

    Pre-ordered months ago and I’m really looking forward to this. Especially the background stories about the other characters and Cormac’s prison story.

  15. musicalmom Says:

    Yes, I’m very excited! I looked for it just today and was told the 16th is the actual release date, so still a few more days. I just love Kitty and Ben has become such a doll!

  16. Todd Says:

    Been pre-ordered on Amazon for months. Always excited for a new Carrie Vaughn book, especially if it has to do with Kitty! Can’t wait to find out just exactly what happened to Cormac.

    Just finished “Discord’s Apple” last week. Fabulous! A sequel would be very much appreciated.🙂

  17. Jakk Says:

    I have pre-ordered the book from my bookstore, as they were not getting any of the hardcovers. Thanks for letting me know, Carrie or i would of not known and bought the paperback never knowing.

  18. Nonny Says:

    Preordered! Excited!

  19. Sam Says:

    Hi Carrie

    Are you doing a signing for Greatest Hits?

    -Sam

  20. carriev Says:

    Check the link on the right hand column that says “Conventions and Signings”.


  21. […] This is on my list to read. Next week, Kitty's Greatest Hits, my very first short story collection, will be released into the wild!  I've had some questions about this, which I will now answer, and convince you that you must have this book. Kitty's Greatest Hits contains 14 stories, two of which have never been seen before.  Wooo!  So, for those of you who worried that buying this would mean buying all the same stories you've already read over again, have no fear.  This has … Read More […]


Leave a Reply

