links and stuff

August 2, 2011

A miscellaneous post today.

This week I’m a featured favorite author at the blog ReaWrite.  Check in for interviews and giveaways.  (This is pretty cool, especially after Kitty month at Book Chick City!  So much attention, I blush.)

At Comic Con, I did a video interview for Suvudu, which was very exciting.  I was on right after Scott Westerfeld and got to meet him and Justine Larbalestier for the first time, which was awesome.

What I’m currently reading:  Embassytown, by China Miéville.  People had been trying to get me to read his books for years, and I just couldn’t get into them, until The City and The City, which blew me away.  So now, of course, I’m a fan.

And finally, some very sad news:  reports are coming in that L.A. Banks has passed away.  Not what I wanted to find on my internet first thing in the morning.  I’m heartbroken.

3 Responses to “links and stuff”


  1. I love the suvudu interview. We so rarely ever see authors do video one’s!


  2. Apologies if I seem like I’m hijacking your thread here, but:

    First of all, since I didn’t get a chance to say it before, I loved Kitty’s Big Trouble. After the previous two books, which I didn’t find so involving, this was a wonderful return to form. Plus, as an extra treat, you even managed to squeeze in a conversation with one of my favorite characters from the series.

    Second of all, I’ve just finished reading a book that I think you might like: Lucy, by Laurence Gonzales. It’s about a primatologist who takes in the orphaned daughter of a colleague, only to discover that the girl (the titular character) is actually a genetically engineered human-bonobo hybrid. In many ways, it’s similar to the Kitty books in that Lucy, having had little say in the matter of her birth, appeals to the rest of the world (or the US, at least) to at least accept her existence, using many of the same channels that Kitty uses. Plus, it’s just a wonderful reminder that no matter how horrible the world can be, there are still reasons to keep living. I like to think of this book as being like Michael Crichton, but with heart.

    So yeah, feel free to check it out.

  3. carriev Says:

    Thanks!


Leave a Reply

