flowers

June 15, 2011

One of the reasons I picked the house I did to move into was the already-mature garden.  I’m the person who kills mint, so I wanted established plants that I wouldn’t have to nurture.  At least not too much.  Here’s what I got:

We’ve discovered that Lily likes eating rose plants.  Who knew?

5 Responses to “flowers”

  1. Beccy H Says:

    Thorn likes pruning, she isn’t allowed near the blueberry bushes for this reason. She pruned nearly a dozen rose bushes to the ground when we were renting (fortuately the landlord was fine with it). And I knew she really trusted me the day she came in pawing at her mouth, when I looked she had a piece of rose stem wedged across the roof of her mouth, which she let me take out🙂

    Nice clematis and roses🙂

  2. Miss Bliss Says:

    Wow…how lovely!

  3. Carolyn Says:

    Beccy H. beat me to identifying the clematis for you. Very pretty! I believe some clematis are deciduous, so if the clematis look dead in winter, don’t think they’re toast. I believe the rose might be ‘Blushing Knock Out’ in which case, it should be very easy care (and grow back well even after Lily gets over her fascination with it).

  4. Ann Says:

    Ooh, I think your rose is [i]Rosa woodsii[/i], or wood’s rose. Native roses look friendly, don’t you think?

    Your clematis are lovely. I have to admire other people’s plants; we had to let the clematis in our backyard die, because our dog doesn’t seem to care whether or not a plant is poisonous. Lily is probably smarter in that regard.

  5. lynn willerton Says:

    try getting a plumbago plant. it is the blue flower you see on the side of the overpass of the highway. can handle flooding, drought, and cutting back to the ground. as long as the roots are there, it will grow back. we cut back every other year because they get leggy otherwise.
    http://www.plantanswers.com/plumbago_best.htm


Leave a Reply

