a tale of Murphy’s Law & Hunter’s Ode

April 26, 2011

I went out to a really nice celebratory dinner last night with friends.  Now that I can actually tell people about the nomination…  I found out about it two weeks ago.  Then I had to keep quiet.  Do you know how hard it was being at a science fiction convention, like I was last week, and not telling people that I’d just been nominated for a Hugo?

Actually, it wasn’t too hard, because the universe helpfully stepped in and said, “Here are some things to distract you so you don’t tell anyone.”  I came down with a pretty spectacular ear infection.  The only thing harder than being at a science fiction convention and not telling people I’d been nominated was being at a science fiction convention and not being able to hear at all out of one ear.

I stayed pretty sick for the couple of days after the convention, and wasn’t thinking about much of anything.  Just when I started to feel better — my furnace went out.  Completely done.  This didn’t come as a surprise — the thing was 35 years old.  I’d been hoping it would squeak through one more winter.  But alas, twas not to be.  I can hear you thinking, now:  But Carrie, at least it’s spring and you don’t need heating.  Ah, well, you’d think.  But this is Colorado.  And we had a cold snap last week, oh yes we did.  I had the guy out to look at it Thursday, made the decision to replace it, which wouldn’t happen until Monday (yesterday), so of course it snowed on Saturday.  And I was heating with space heaters.

But it’s all better now.  And I spent the last two weeks sufficiently distracted from just about everything.  Thank you, universe!

In other news, Fantasy Magazine has reprinted “A Hunter’s Ode to His Bait,” which is about sex, death, and unicorns.  It’s awesome.

I was sure there was something else I wanted to mention, but I’ve forgotten it.  I’ll remember as soon as I hit “post.”

13 Responses to “a tale of Murphy’s Law & Hunter’s Ode”

  1. John Stevens Says:

    Congrats on the Hugo nod! I have not yet read any of your novels but all of the short fiction I’ve read I have enjoyed immensely. It would be great if “Amaryllis” got the Award. It is such a well-structured and superbly written story.

    I wrote about it in one of my recent columns on dystopia: http://www.sfsignal.com/archives/2011/02/the-way-is-open-if-we-want-to-take-it-the-dystopian-spirit-in-21st-century-sf/ .

  2. Thomas Says:

    Congratulations again on the Hugo nomination!

    Glad you got rid of that nasty ear infection and were able to get your furnace replaced. Hope you didn’t freeze too much this weekend. Also glad I didn’t try to go hiking. I do wish the weather would stabilize a little so outdoors stuff would be a little easier to do.

  3. carriev Says:

    Thanks for the write up, John. I was interested in how many of the stories in that antho dealt with reproductive issues.

    And yeah, not a good time of year to have the furnace go out.

  4. Miss Bliss Says:

    CONGRATS! So happy for you.

  5. LupLun Says:

    Pfft, you’ve got a big quilt and a cuddly dog. Who needs a furnace? ~_^

  6. Patricia Mathews Says:

    How well insulated is your place? When the Big Chill hit down here (a.k.a. “Albuquerque becomes Denver for a week”) my house leaked like a spaghetti strainer. I’ve been Taking Steps (slowly) to mitigate that and have been informed by my contractor that with a house as old as I am, it will never be corrected!

    However – four cats and a nearly new flannel comforter on top of the rest of the bedding worked wonders. Want to borrow a cat?

  7. Todd Says:

    Ah, springtime in the Rockies. Where it can go from 70 and sunny to 20 and snowing like hell in less time then it takes to read a chapter in a Kitty book! Which is why (despite living in Idaho) I make sure I don’t fire up my sprinkler system too early. Nothing like coming home and finding a geyser gushing out of the backflow to ruin your day.

    And when my furnace met it’s maker, it did so when it was a whopping ten degrees outside. Needless to say, I knew something was wrong immediately upon awakening. Glad you got yours fixed. I’m sure Lily got a lot of snuggling over the weekend.🙂

  8. Jim Van Pelt Says:

    I thought at first you were being metaphorical when you said your “furnace went out.” You’ve lost your zest for life? You’ve reached a creative block? What? What?

    Thank goodness that sometimes a furnace is just a furnace.

  9. carriev Says:

    Jim — nope, this was straightforward concrete reality. Shivery, chilly reality…

  10. max Says:

    You’ve got half a million reasons to rejoice. I am very happy for you. CONGRATULATIONS!

  11. Brian Hiebert Says:

    Hey Carrie,

    Congrats again. Fine story. However, I may be prejudiced, but “Hunter’s Ode” is far and away my favorite thing you’ve ever written. I still get goosebumps thinking about the time you read it aloud at MileHiCon. Superb.

    Best,
    Brian

  12. carriev Says:

    Thanks, Brian!


  13. […] about my health, I’ll skip the details.  Suffice to say, I started the summer with a nasty ear infection, and ended it with a cold that had been building for weeks in the form of a sore throat that […]


Leave a Reply

