a bit of news

April 24, 2011

My short story “Amaryllis” has been nominated for a Hugo.

I think people heard my squee in the next zip code.

See, I grew up reading science fiction.  My parents read science fiction, and I read what they read, and I don’t remember actually learning what the Hugo Awards are, I just kinda always knew.  (This also means I haven’t had to explain it and what it means to my parents, who may actually be more excited about this than I am.  Because they’re awesome.)  Being part of that, a lineage of SF writers going back to the stuff my mom and dad read when they were kids?  Pretty awesome.

17 Responses to “a bit of news”

  1. sef Says:

    Oh, this is your first Hugo nomination? Gosh. Congratulations, then!

  2. Kim Power Says:

    Fabulous, fabulous, fabulous. Congratulations!

  3. Claire Says:

    Congrats!

  4. Mom Says:

    Of course we’re excited! We are so proud!

  5. sef Says:

    James Nicoll said http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3Fn_Zrrc_0Q&feature=player_embedded describes his reaction, at about 28 seconds in. I think it fits you too :).

  6. Jakk Says:

    Congratulations!!

  7. MarkB Says:

    That is awesome news, Carrie. Way to go! Guess I have one more reason to make sure I get my Hugo ballot in this year.


  8. Congratulations! I wanted to say that I thought Amaryllis was entirely lovely and it made me cry.

  9. Brian Hiebert Says:

    Congrats, Carrie! Wonderful story!

    Best,
    Brian


  10. That’s fantastic news, Carrie. Pretty awesome indeed! Huge congratulations!

  11. carriev Says:

    Mary: I’m in very good company, on the list! I hope I’ll see you at Reno!

    Thanks, everyone. 🙂

  12. Debbie W Says:

    Yet another reason I am sad that we will not be at Worldcon this year as I would love to watch you WIN! (my apologies to the other fine authors in that category) I’m sooo glad to use our membership to cast a vote for you!
    BTW, we heard your squee down here in TX. 😉

  13. Robert Says:

    Congratulations!

  14. Thomas Says:

    Amazing! Absolutely amazing, Carrie! Congratulations!

  15. Andrew Says:

    Way to go Carrie! It’s a story well deserving of this recognition. Nice job.

  16. LupLun Says:

    Thumbs up. ^_^ b

  17. Todd Says:

    Congratulations! It was a fantastic story, and I really enjoyed reading it. Totally loved the ending.


Leave a Reply

