home from Starfest!

April 18, 2011

And it was lovely, as always, even though I felt a bit out of it much of the time.  I’m recovering from an ear infection I had last week, and my hearing was not back to normal.  Very frustrating.  Brief notes:

  • I believe Starfest has officially outgrown its space.  It was already too crowded to move at 10 am on Saturday.  This, of course, makes it even more like a mini-DragonCon.
  • I signed lots of books, got to see lots of folks who I pretty much only see once a year, here.
  • I had dinner at Pasquini’s!  This is my favorite Italian restaurant, part of a local chain.  There used to be a location on my side of town, but it closed, and I mourned.  This one is three blocks from the convention, so I try to sneak in a meal there.
  • I gave Mark Sheppard a copy of Discord’s Apple.  He was the one actor on hand I really wanted to meet, and he was super nice.  My friends who were on hand assure me that I comported myself well and not like a screaming fangirl.
  • I won a piece in the art auction for the first time!  Some of Peri Charlifu’s pottery, which I’ve had my eye on for a very long time.
  • I encountered  living proof that it’s possible for a costumer to inhabit the uncanny valley.  A couple was on hand dressed as Mr. Incredible and Elasti-girl.  They had exactly the right body types — he was skinny hipped and barrel chested, she was toothpick thin.  They wore wigs/dyed hair to get the styles right, and the costumes were excellent.  Which meant it kind of looked like a couple of Pixar figures had stepped off the screen.  Which meant they didn’t quite look exactly human.  My exact response was:  “That’s really awesome.  But creepy.  In fact, that’s really creepy.  Wow.  I’m going to walk away now…”

And that was my convention!

One Response to “home from Starfest!”

  1. Jakk Says:

    Glad you had fun. Mr Sheppard is also going to be appearing in the new season of Doctor Who starting this Sunday.

    PS: Finished After the Golden Age, and loved it. Thank you!


Leave a Reply

