After the Golden Age is out today!

April 12, 2011

It’s here!  It’s finally here!

I’ve mentioned before that while the Kitty novels have actual playlists, most of my other books have a single song or type of music that I associate with it.  After the Golden Age has a song.  Here’s how it happened:  I’d set the book aside for quite a long time — months, I think — in order to work on something else.  Probably Kitty Goes to Washington.  I was about to start working on it again.  I was definitely thinking about it a whole lot, and a little bit daunted about diving in after the long break.  Then, driving home late at night, Men at Work’s “Overkill” came on the radio.  And it was Celia’s song.  I was right there, in her head, with her frustration in trying to escape her past, and her inability to do so.  After that, I was able to jump right back in and keep writing.

I hope y’all like this one.

 

15 Responses to “After the Golden Age is out today!”

  1. David in AZ Says:

    I like it so far! Now if work would just stop interfering with my reading…
    (I enjoyed “Steel”, too)


  2. Yay! Congrats, yet again!


  3. “Overkill” is great tuneage, BTW. One of my favorite Men at Work songs.

  4. sef Says:

    I’d forgotten about it! Now I have purchased it.

  5. Jakk Says:

    I love that song. It is on my mp3 player i take to work. Great imagery in that song. Sadly, was not feeling well this morning or i would have the book already. Should get it tomorrow. And i have not seen that video since the 80’s, so thank you again Carrie.

  6. Debbie W. Says:

    WOOT!!! I got it in the mail today! My husband had pre-ordered it for my birthday present & it arrived in time for my birthday tomorrow! A most awesome way to spend my birthday!

    And I love “Men at Work” too! 🙂

  7. Kellie Says:

    I was excited when this showed up at the store I work at =) Especially because no stores in our area carry Steel! Bah!

  8. Bonnie Says:

    I came to your blog because I just finished After The Golden Age after compulsively reading it (when I should be studying for finals…) to see if there were any sequels in the works. It’s excellent as a standalone, but I’d love to read more books set in this world.

  9. carriev Says:

    I have an idea for a sequel…but it isn’t written yet! I have to put it with the 12 other ideas I have for books right now!

  10. Brittany Says:

    I’ve read and loved all your books, but After the Golden Age is one of my favorite books that you have written! What a wonderful story:)

  11. Bonnie Says:

    Yay, I’m happy that a sequel is a possibility!

  12. Tracey P. Says:

    I’m also happy to hear there may be a sequel. Taking superheroes from comic to novel is tough and usually makes a terrible read. This book kicks serious ass.

  13. DebbieW Says:

    Stayed up ’til 4am to finish reading After the Golden Age … LOVED IT!!!!! I hope that sequel some to fruition & makes it to publication. Now to pass it on to my husband for reading.

    BTW, I’m now listening to the audiobook of Discord’s Apple (even though I read it when it came out). Interesting to hear it. I’m enjoying hearing the story again. Your books are the type *worth* re-reading!

  14. danaeris Says:

    Any plans to publish this in audiobook format? I read the first chapter online and am excited to listen to it!

  15. carriev Says:

    No offers yet from an audio publisher…I’ll check back.


Leave a Reply

