do you have a question?

April 5, 2011

The April issue of Fantasy Magazine is reprinting my unicorn story, “A Hunter’s Ode to His Bait.”  The entire issue is available now, for 2.99.  The individual stories will be posted throughout the month.

I am certain, an hour ago, that I had a million little bits and snippets to tell you.  I remember waking up this morning and thinking, “Oh, I must remember to mention all these things when I write my blog post.”  And now, of course, I can’t recall what they were.  My  mother would say, “Then they must not have been too important.”  And no, objectively they probably weren’t.  But it will still bother me for the next hour or so.

In the meantime, anybody have anything they want to know?

UPDATE:  Of course, as soon as I hit “publish,” my inbox fills with more news.

Vampires:  The Recent Undead, edited by Paula Guran, is now available.  This has a reprint of my story, “Conquistador de la Noche,” which is all about Rick’s origin.

Tor.com has posted an excerpt of After the Golden Age.  It’s the same excerpt that’s on my website, but this link has the added bonus of a comment insisting that even this person’s nine year old child can tell I’m a bad writer, and proves it by posting part of their own work.   Ttttttthppppttthhhh.  (Sometimes, it’s actually pretty easy to shrug off criticism…)

9 Responses to “do you have a question?”

  1. carriev Says:

    Ack! I remembered what I meant to say! I saw the Publishers Weekly review of Kitty’s Big Trouble — and it’s good!

  2. ArcLight Says:

    Phooey…looks like the nine year old’s work is gone. I’ve been looking for a new author to follow, too….

  3. carriev Says:

    hahahahaha! They took it down! Awesome!

  4. Jakk Says:

    I usually buy your books asap (as soon as published!), and being a fan of comic books and Wild Cards, this was a instant sale for me.

    As for questions, i have a few but will limit to two:
    1) Would you ever co-write with another author and 2) Who would you like to write with if you could?

  5. carriev Says:

    Jakk: I’ve thought about this a lot, esp. since working on the shared world of Wild Cards, and watching friends go through very successful collaborations. So, it’s definitely something I’d like to try. The thing is, I have no idea who. I’m a bit of a control freak, so it would have to be someone I like and feel comfortable asserting myself with, and someone I trust, and who is a really awesome writer.

    Basically, it’s not something I’m seeking out, but if the opportunity presents itself I would go for it.

  6. Angela Says:

    Will all your books, specifically Steel and After the Golden Age, be released as audiobooks?

    I simply love your writing. Fabulous strong female leads who don’t act like guys to succeed. Yay! Thank you, thank you, and keep up the great work!

  7. carriev Says:

    Thank *you*! I’ll keep this up as long as I can!

    I’m not sure about Steel — I think there’s not as big a market for YA audiobooks. There’s a good chance Golden Age will get picked up, but I don’t think there’s a plan yet.

  8. sef Says:

    Actually, I had a question today. If you don’t mind, of course…

    You have two books coming out in a month. How did that happen? I mean, were you working on both simultaneously, or did you finish one very quickly? Did one publisher work more quickly?

    I’m sorry, I am probably not phrasing this well; it’s just that having watched several authors go through the entire process, it just occurred to me today how unusual this is.

  9. carriev Says:

    Sef: it is pretty unusual, and it’s a combination of things — the books were written at widely different times, but publishing schedules happened to overlap. It took a really long time to get Discord’s Apple and Golden Age published, for various reasons having nothing to do with the writing of them.

    After the Golden Age was written 2005-2006, in the gaps between Kitty contracts. Steel was written in 2009. So it only looks like I wrote them at the same time.

    I think I’m going to do a post on this, since a lot of people have been asking.


Leave a Reply

