Paul

March 20, 2011

The second scene of Paul is a litmus test.  The people who get it are going to really really get it.  The people who don’t — I can’t imagine what they must think, and what they think is going to happen in the rest of the movie.  I’m in the former category, because when we first see the two main characters, they’re wearing San Diego Comic-Con badges, which I recognized.  I loved the whole sequence because it’s two guys totally enjoying themselves at Comic-Con, for all the reasons I did, and I could totally relate.  That’s how I know that about half the jokes in the movie were there just for me, and the other few hundred thousand folks who’ve been to Comic-Con who also saw Paul this weekend.

The rest of the movie was serviceable.  There was maybe one too many cheap shot and definitely a few too many “are you guys gay?” jokes.  The plotting was very very meta:  as soon as Wyoming got mentioned, in the first scene no less, I knew the climactic scene was going to be at Devils Tower, which it was, because how could it not?  And when the movie goes through absolute contortions to not show us the MiB head-honcho’s face, you just know the person playing that part is going to be a big reveal, which it is, and a satisfying one at that.  My favorite part ended up being Jason Bateman as MiB Agent Zoil, for various reasons that came to a head at the end of the story.  Who knew?

5 Responses to “Paul”

  1. Ann Says:

    After reading this, I looked up the movie trailer and laughed all the way through. And, oh my goodness, it stars the guys from _Spaced_!

  2. carriev Says:

    They are also the guys behind “Shaun of the Dead” and “Hot Fuzz.”

    I realize now I didn’t really say what the movie was about… I keep thinking of it as “Jay and Silent Bob Strike Back” meets “Galaxy Quest.”

  3. Bradford Says:

    Have you seen Battle: Los Angeles? The trailers look intriguing, but Ebert gave it the worst review I have ever seen. I suppose I shall stay away from it unless someone who’s opinion I respect indicates that it has some redeeming features….. Looks like I’m going to Paul!

  4. Markysan Says:

    I didn’t care for the movie. It’s obvious that they’re anti-Christian, but did every Christian character in the film have to be portrayed as either a clueless redneck moron or hostile militant god-warrior? I have no qualms about the clashing of these cultures, but to be so obviously one-sided and deliberately offensive about it turned me off to the film.
    … that it wasn’t nearly as funny as Shaun Of The Dead

  5. carriev Says:

    Yeah, that and the rednecks. I kept thinking, “This is how the rest of the world sees the western US. Merp.”


Leave a Reply

