for discussion

March 5, 2011

Is Night Watch the greatest urban fantasy film of all time?

If you haven’t seen it, go see it now.  We’ll be here when you get back.

16 Responses to “for discussion”

  1. Eloise Says:

    It’s so tempting to just say yes and be done with it!

    And it is a great film, certainly worthy of consideration. I’m just wondering, in the limits of “urban fantasy film” what the competition is?

  2. carriev Says:

    I was particularly thinking in terms of the current definition of urban fantasy — lots of magic, lots of supernatural critters, detectives and battles, all in a modern/urban setting. Night Watch really nails a lot of the tropes.

  3. Eloise Says:

    Agreed – I just wonder what else gets close to give it competition?

  4. Egil Says:

    It is good, but not the best. I like “Near Dark” better, or at least I did the last time I saw it.

  5. cerrowyn Says:

    I enjoyed Nightwatch very much and I think I have to agree that it has all the basics of a good urban fantasy. I don’t think any other movie quite manages to nail the staples, as was mentioned, with the same detail. I was disappointed when I couldn’t get through the sequel, Daywatch, though I tried. Near Dark wasn’t as much urban fantasy for me as it was a good vampire horror flick. The vampires were dark, clever, and just plain evil, out into the roles of the antagonists without having to romanticize them.

  6. Re WIlliams Says:

    lol That trailer was a good wake up. I almost jumped out of my chair. This is a movie I could watch with my best friend. Half the time I’d probably have a pillow over my face and she’d be laughing at me. *sigh* It’d be nice not to get so scared by movies. I never grew out of it – Temple of Doom gave me nightmare for 5 years. At least now it’s only bad dreams for a few nights.

  7. Cathy Says:

    Wow, that trailer nearly gave me a heart attack!🙂
    I added the movie to my Loevfilm rental queue, it looks interesting…

  8. carriev Says:

    I was half expecting someone to jump in with “Underworld” as competition and am happy no one has! Or “Twilight,” for that matter…

    “Let the Right One In” might be a contender, but I think “Night Watch” is better. The old 80’s horror movie “Troll” is actually really good urban fantasy, but not quite as stylish.

  9. Eloise Says:

    I’m too old to have any desire for “Twilight” thankfully. But I enjoyed “Underworld” but it doesn’t make me think UF.

    That might be because more than half the story is in the forests and the urban setting is suitably Balkan that it’s more like Transylvania with an overgrown village with peasants and pitchforks than a modern urban setting to my mind.

    Plus… misses the range of supernatural critters I think. Vampires v Werewolves is not the same as UF: dates back too far for one. Where are the witches, the imps, the fae and the rest?

    And speaking personally, I loathed “Let the Right One In” so it’s not in contention for any best of type movies in book. Plus, not sure with a child lead (and a vampire in a child’s form) I want to think about the romance element that is often there in UF. Where would Kitty be without Cormac and Ben? Mercy without Adam etc.


  10. I was a bit underwhelmed by the movie, only because it changed quite a few things from the book, and it’s one of my favorite fantasy book series. But taking it on its own merits as an urban fantasy film, it certainly stands out.
    I do strongly recommend the books.


  11. Haven’t seen nightwatch.

    Is Blade UF or just action/adventure? Not that I think the Blade movies were great, but they do hit a lot of the vamp tropes.

  12. Jo Says:

    You know, 3 separate times i have tried to watch this film. I fall asleep every single time. This trailer looks fantastic though. Way better than anything i saw in the 3 times i tried to watch it.

  13. Adam. Says:

    Underworld isn’t an urban fantasy film as much as it’s a “Kate Beckinsale in tight clothing” film (c.f. Van Helsing, which noone has mentioned either).

    Perhaps if Constatine hadn’t been a Keanu production it might have been an contender?

  14. C Kelsey Says:

    I can’t say that it’s the “best” because Day Watch ties it at the very least. 😉

  15. jacqie Says:

    But the books are better…

  16. Jared Says:

    Eh, I found Night Watch impressive but overrated, myself. And Day Watch just left me frustrated and annoyed.


Leave a Reply

