wish list

March 3, 2011

I’ve been making mental travel wish list, thinking about where I’d like to go if time and money were no object.  Here’s what I’ve got so far.

  • New Zealand horseback tour
  • Safari in Africa
  • Hiking to Everest base camp
  • Chartering a boat in the Caribbean for a couple of weeks
  • Diving Monterey Bay
  • Diving in the South Pacific
  • Antarctica
  • Machu Picchu
  • Scandinavian cruise
  • Venice
  • Istanbul
  • Morocco
  • Island hopping in Greece

That’s just off the top of my head.  Really, I wouldn’t turn down a trip anywhere.  But those are the OMG yes trips.

13 Responses to “wish list”

  1. Miss Bliss Says:

    Man I’d love that New Zealand Horseback Tour. I’ve wanted to go there for years now.

  2. David in AZ Says:

    Well, I’d offer to take you on some of them, but I think my wife would object. And if she didn’t, my girlfriend certainly would.

    It’s a nice list – overlaps mine quite a bit.

  3. Ty Says:

    Ha! I have been to Morocco!

    Quake in the presence of my awesomeness!

    You should add Malta to your list, because it’s the only other place I’ve been.

  4. Re WIlliams Says:

    Wow. That’s a nice list. I’m dreaming about an Everest Base Camp holiday too. A tip for you: The Alaskan fjords aren’t that much different than the Norwegian fjords – except in Alaska you don’t have the quaint wooden houses, there’s just wilderness.
    Yesterday while in a library near Oslo I discovered all your Kitty books! (In English) Are they in Norwegian? I have all the books which have been translated into German. When I bought the first one I didn’t realize you were an American author.

  5. ArcLight Says:

    Nice list. When we’re both ridiculously wealthy maybe we’ll run into each other in a couple of those places.

  6. Erika L Says:

    I live in Stockholm, and I know of a lot of Scandinavian cruises. If you manage to make enough money, I would really recommend to take a cruise in Norway(http://www.hurtigruten.us/norway/). Diving in the fiords is also amazing! In August, they have the killer whales there! It’s wonderful!

  7. carriev Says:

    I’ve been to Alaska — not cruising, but I was near Kenai for a few days.

    Part of the reason for Scandinavia is I have family in Sweden I would like to visit someday.

  8. Cathy Says:

    Well, I’ve done those so far:
    * Safari in Africa
    * Venice
    * Istanbul
    * Island hopping in Greece
    and I have to say that the safaris in Africa definitely win. Gorilla trekking in Rwanda was definitely one of the most awesome things I have ever done in my life. If you can scarpe together the money, go for that!

  9. Cathy Says:

    Well, I’ve done those so far:
    * Safari in Africa
    * Venice
    * Istanbul
    * Island hopping in Greece
    and I have to say that the safaris in Africa definitely win. Gorilla trekking in Rwanda was definitely one of the most awesome things I have ever done in my life. If you can scrape together the money, go for that!

  10. Doruk Says:

    I am from Istanbul, so it is nice to see it made your list. It is one of those instances where I didn’t quite realize how interesting a place it was until I moved out of it. You don’t quite think of all the cool stuff when they are just lying about on the way to school😛

  11. carriev Says:

    Everyone I know who’s been to Istanbul loved it.

  12. Doruk Says:

    If you do end up going, let me know, I still know a few good restaurants to recommend😉

  13. Nicholas Jackson Says:

    My then girlfriend (now also wife) went to Machu Picchu almost exactly twelve years ago – about a week after we started going out, in fact (although she was careful to reassure me that her somewhat abrupt removal to an entirely different continent wasn’t due to anything I’d said or done, and happily she returned safely a few weeks later). She said it’s a fascinating place, and brought back a load of photographs to confirm this.

    Venice is lovely. We went about seven years ago and had a splendid time: March turned out to be just the right time of year to go, as it was warm and sunny but not oppressively so, and although there were quite a few other people there, it wasn’t as ridiculously crowded as it gets later in the summer. On a practical level, getting a three-day ticket for the vaporetti (water-buses) turned out to be quite a cheap and convenient way of getting around the islands. (And returning across the lagoon at sunset from Burano to Venezia was really pretty.)


Leave a Reply

