I Am Number Four

February 19, 2011

Okay, I didn’t actually go see this, mostly because I don’t want to contribute anything to this fiasco.  But some friends of mine saw it and I wanted to share what they said about it:

“It’s Highlander 2!  It totally has the same plot as Highlander 2, with planet Zeiss and everything!”

Make of that what you will.

15 Responses to “I Am Number Four”

  1. LupLun Says:

    Haven’t seen it, not inclined to. My local paper gave it 1 1/2 stars and thought it was a fairly blatant Twilight ripoff. And experience teaches me that, except for the occasional rom-com capitalizing on Valentines, very little quality cinema gets released in February. The book was pretty popular, and some people I know well regard it highly, but I haven’t read that either.

    All of which means that I’m skeptical, but not having seen it I can’t really contribute to the discussion except to provide facts. Small price to pay, if my suspicions are correct. ~_^

  2. sef Says:

    But there was no Highlander 2. There was Highlander, and then there was a season of a TV show loosely based on it, and that was all.

  3. Sarah Says:

    My daughter and I saw it last night and I have to say, we both thought it was wicked awesome. I saw the Highlander movie when I was a kid and this never came to mind last night. I thought effects were great, the story was good and even the acting was decent. It was a great movie for the geek at heart who loves comic books movies.

  4. ZacharyG Says:

    I -was- considering checking this movie out, just because there is absolutely nothing else that seems remotely interesting in the theatres. But after reading that Times article… good god, despicable isn’t a strong enough word for what’s going on behind the scenes there. As someone who wants to get published in the future, this makes me both furious and sick to my stomach, sick that this kind of thing could ever gain traction. Yeah, no, I’m with you Carrie. They’re not getting a cent of my money.


  5. I *think* Sef is joking, but just in case he isn’t… http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0102034/

    It was dreadful. Beyond dreadful. The original Highlander movie was fabulous. This “sequel” was… really really REALLY bad.

  6. Jakk Says:

    THANK you for that article. I almost bought that book, but after reading about how this man uses his “ghost” writers, i have no desire to ever buy or read any book by them. Wished there was a way to keep track of what they publish so i can avoid it.

    And Highlander 2 was awful. Glad i didn’t go see that movie.

  7. Chris B Says:

    I saw the movie and I see the Highlander 2 similarity. A refugee from their world, a refugee who is mentored by an older man who dies protecting him part way through. Protecting the refugee from goofy aliens that are tough but are just too damn goofy to take seriously. With end-of-the-world consequences if the refugee loses.

    You made a good choice skipping this one.

  8. carriev Says:

    It is often said among fans of Highlander that “there should have been only one…”

  9. JeffW Says:

    Highlander 2 has the dubious honor of being the Worst Movie I Ever Saw in the Theater. There was a director’s cut of it on VHS at some point, which I watched mostly out of curiosity, but the best that can be said about it was that it “sucked slightly less than the original”.

  10. carriev Says:

    You voluntarily watched it twice? Under any condition? Holy cow!

  11. A. Wolf Says:

    Haha so much hate for highlander 2. I am not going to say it was a good movie, becuase it wasn’t by any standerd. I love watching it though, it makes me laugh every time and I have seen far more then twice.

  12. Adam. Says:

    It really says something about Highlander 2 when you think that the best thing about Highlander 3 was that it retconned Highlander 2 out of existence.

  13. Miss Bliss Says:

    I gotta say I am pretty amused that he made a comparison with Andy Warhol’s Factory. I’ve always thought Warhol was a plain old fashioned money-whore and most of the people involved in the Factory got chewed up and spit out while Andy made all the money. A few did alright but they were doing alright before Andy and thus did just fine after Andy. So…I guess the comparison is accurate.

  14. Robert Says:

    Highlander 2 is a great example of the depths Sean Connery has plumbed for a paycheck. *Cough* Zardoz *Cough* *Cough*

  15. Bradford Says:

    I saw Number 4 today and I have to agree with Sarah’s post; I really enjoyed it! Of course, I was a big fan of the TV show Roswell, so I tend to eat up the High School romance/alien shows when they are done very well. Besides, this movie stars Glee’s Dianna Agron, which is a huge bonus!

    Carrie, I understand why you wouldn’t want to watch this on principle. But if you do decide to see it, I think you will either love it, or hate it.


Leave a Reply

