the thing I learned today

February 16, 2011

So, I’ve been researching the silent movie era for a story I’m writing.  And I learned something cool.  Conrad Veidt was a prominent actor of the era, but he’s probably best known for playing Major Strasser in Casablanca.  Cool, right?  But one of his earlier roles was in a silent movie called The Man Who Laughs.  Apparently, Bob Kane, creator of Batman, saw this as a kid and, deeply scarred influenced by Veidt’s character, introduced the Joker.

Everyone else probably already knew this…

6 Responses to “the thing I learned today”

  1. Andrew Says:

    Silent movie era, huh? I’ll be interested to see what you’re going to do with that.

  2. Sean Eric Fagan Says:

    I guess that also explains the name of the character in The Watchmen. Huh!

  3. Michael Says:

    No idea what year or where your placing your story but that was a fun time period.
    Mary Pickford vs. The studios.
    The death of Houdini and the spiirtualist movement.
    The Roscoe “Fatty” Arbuckle trail and the original hollywod den of vice
    “The garden of Allah” run by Alla Nazimova.
    Also the title of a great Don Henley song.
    Lindsy Lohan is an amatuer compared to those people.

  4. spiderorchid Says:

    I didn’t know that (thanks for the interesting information!) – but I admire his performance in “The Thief of Bagdad”, he was marvelous as the over-the-top villain. A charming old-fashioned “Arabian Nights” movie that I highly recommend, by the way. ^_^


  5. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by torforgeauthors, Katie A. Katie A said: RT @torforgeauthors: Carrie Vaughn: the thing I learned today http://bit.ly/eB6m7g […]

  6. Markysan Says:

    A batman geek since ’83, I did know this. I’ve always wanted to see the film but never have. 😦


Leave a Reply

