a smattering of movies

February 5, 2011

One of the things that happened last week, Ty introduced me to Netflix streaming, which means I watched a lot of movies.  (We were supposed to be watching my Captain Power DVD’s, but they weren’t working on his player.  Sadness.)  Many of them were bad movies.  I haven’t been exposed to this many bad movies since the days of the corner video store when I would systematically rent everything in the Sci Fi section just to say I did.

Vipers. Mostly because Jessica Steen, of Captain Power, was in it, and joy of joys, she didn’t die horribly!

Brick.   Joseph Gordon-Levitt channeling Bogart.  Strange, nicely done.  Linguistically interesting.

Archangel.  A made for TV thing starring Daniel Craig.  Also nicely done, but I kept thinking that shocking twist ending just wouldn’t work that way in the real world.

Gor. Yes, there is a movie version of Gor, and I had to watch it.  I just had to see for myself how bad it could possibly be.  And you know what?  It was so freaking boring.  It wasn’t even mockable, just boring.  Until the Solid Gold Dancers showed up.  But that only lasted like thirty seconds.  Apparently, there’s a sequel, which I might actually be persuaded to watch someday because a) Jack Palance is in it, and b) there’s an MST3K version.

From Beyond. Horrible Lovecraftian thing starring all the same people from Re-Animator.  Very gross.  But at least the poodle survived, God knows how.

Then there were the two we watched for five minutes and couldn’t get any further on.  Seeing how I made it all the way through Vipers, Gor, and From Beyond, this should tell you how very, very bad Vegas in Space and Narcosys really were.

Then I got home, and wasn’t done watching movies.

All Quiet on the Western Front. I’m researching WWI for a story I’m writing and have been wanting to see this, and apparently Turner Classic Movies has a telepathic link to my brain.  Freaking brilliant.  One of those movies that I just never got around to seeing because I thought I already knew what it was about.  But it so exceeded my expectations.  Holds its own against anything that’s come after it.

The Witches.  A great Jim Henson-produced film that I saw when it came out twenty years ago and haven’t seen since.  Found a DVD copy, watched it last night, still good.  Based on a Roald Dahl book.  Kid gets turned into mouse at a witch’s convention and has to save the world.  Scary and magical in a way that grownups usually can’t stand.

Of course, I’m supposed to be working…

12 Responses to “a smattering of movies”

  1. LupLun Says:

    Aaaaah, Captain Power. Fond childhood memories of sitting before a TV, watching home-taped VHS episodes while shooting the TV with a plastic lightgun shaped like a futuristic fighter-plane. ^_^

    I was about 7 at the time, and noone was more surprised than me when I realized the parts between the flashing-lights shoot-the-TV sequences were more interesting. Written and created, IIRC, by the guy who would later bring us Babylon 5, and in hindsight it shows. Same large-scale plotting and dialog style — which is to say, overblown but awesomely so.

    Wasn’t aware it was on DVD. Might have to pick it up…

  2. ty Says:

    From Beyond is awesome. How can you call it horrible?

  3. Randall Says:

    The funny thing about From Beyond is that Lovecraft’s entire story takes place before the opening credits of the movie.

    And is much better, of course, but that goes without saying.

  4. Thomas Says:

    Hehe… I bet we’ll be hearing more posts about movies now that you’ve found Netfilx streaming.

    I’ve been watching a lot of shows and other random movies on Netflix a lot lately since I’m working 3rd shift now.

  5. carriev Says:

    Best Lovecraft movie ever:
    http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0101550/

  6. M'Hael Says:

    There is indeed an MST3K of the sequel, Episode 5X19: Outlaw, which can be found here:

    http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=-3759404933135524389#

    A HORRIFIC movie, full of misogyny and sexism, but a VERY funny episode.

  7. Bradford Says:

    “Archangle” was based on a novel by Robert Harris, who is one of my favorite authors. I saw the movie recently and thought it was pretty good for a BBC made for TV movie. Harris has been blessed to have many of his novels made into movies, most recently “The Ghost” which was made into a movie called “The Ghost Writer.”

    If I were a movie producer, I’d love to have the rights to “Pompeii” by Robert Harris, which I think would make a fabulous movie!

  8. Darkavich Says:

    there are two Gor movies, both laughable. They just take the main character and counter earth, but don’t hold true to any part of the story. I guess even in the 80’s they couldn’t make a movie from the real story.

  9. leigh nashv Says:

    I miss The Witches…It scared the daylights outta me as a child. Anjelica Huston was perfect as The Grand High Witch:

    http://mostevilwomen.blogspot.com/2011/02/grand-high-witch.html

  10. carriev Says:

    I expected the first Gor movie to be horrific and full of misogyny…but it was just _boring_.

  11. Lionus Says:

    For your research of post-WWI Germany, before they took power the Nazis did everything in their thuggish power to prevent audiences from being affected by the powerful message of “All Quiet on the Western Front”. They set off stink bombs and “anonymously” shouted obscenities from the darkness during the showings. After they came to power, the film was banned and theatre owners who had previously shown it were arrested.

  12. spiderorchid Says:

    So nice to hear that you like “The Witches”. ^_^ It’s a very underrated movie, really great in its way. Personally, I love Rowan Atkinson as the hotel owner.

    And I agree, there are a lot of unbelievably bad movies out there… the fact itself is scarier than they’re plots. ~_^


Leave a Reply

