a prediction

January 16, 2011

So, I took a little flak when I saw the British Being Human and called it the urban fantasy Three’s Company.  Now, here we are, and the American version premiers tomorrow.  My prediction?  It’s going to be even more like the urban fantasy Three’s Company.

7 Responses to “a prediction”

  1. G Says:

    Just watched the last episode of the British season 2. Gah. Now I need to wait for Season 3 to release on DVD. I’m not certain about the US version. Every remake has been hideous and I hated Jacob from Lost.He’s a bad sign.

  2. Spacecadette Says:

    Maybe I’m weird or too opinionated, but I’ve generally found that Brit series translated to Yank suck, but going by the few trailers I’ve seen of Being Human, you’re right, Carrie.

    BTW, looking forward to your new books!

    Dee

  3. Annamal Says:

    Would that make the original british Being Human more like “man about the house”?

  4. LupLun Says:

    Well, I watched it with a fan who said it was a step down from the original. That’s not surprising, though, since fans always say that. They heaped scorn and abuse on the Dresden Files series for changing things… and then went and sent drumsticks to SyFy in a campaign to get it a second season.

    (And yet when I point out that maybe the series should be considered on its own merits, they rule that I’m the unreasonable one.)

    Anyway, the first episode was dull, being mostly setup, but the promos look good and there’s potential here. I might watch it, but I’m still angry at SyFy for cancelling Caprica, so we’ll see.

  5. carriev Says:

    I watched it…and it was mostly kinda meh, except I have to confess I really liked werewolf Josh, at least when he wasn’t purposefully the butt of everyone’s jokes. The actor is doing well with a pretty thankless role, and he reminded me a bit of Kitty in the early days.

  6. LupLun Says:

    Really? I actually didn’t like Josh much. He doesn’t remind me of Kitty at all. In fact, he’s got to be the most emo werewolf I’ve ever seen. And he lost what sympathy I had for him when he met Sarah and immediately started being insensitive. Actually, they’re all kinda emo. I hope we’re looking at some character development soon, otherwise I’m seeing a tale of three sad-sacks moping and feeling sorry for themselves.

  7. carriev Says:

    I’m mostly talking about the scenes where he was actually being philosophical about his situation, esp. that line about how being a werewolf isn’t something that happens once a month but is with him all the time. And how he dealt with his sister. A few other places.

    I do agree, the scenes when he was dealing with the vampire and ghost weren’t as interesting.


Leave a Reply

