it was the best of times, it was the worst of times…

January 10, 2011

io9 has a rundown of SF&F films coming out in 2011.  Lots of SF&F films, which ought to be really exciting, except most of them make me start choking on my own spit.  Now that I know just how bad SF films can be, I fully expect most of these to be about that bad.  Thank you, Michael Bay, for introducing me to the world of “It’ll probably suck.”  But there are a few lights in the darkness.

Cowboys and Aliens. I really want this to be good.  I’m lowering my expectations.  At least my own personal eye candy will be there to dull the pain.

An epic slew of comic book/superhero movies, which I’m actually holding out hopes for:  Green Hornet, Green Lantern, Thor, Captain America.  I will see them all.

The Adjustment Bureau.  “Based on a Philip K. Dick story” is usually a toll of doom for a movie.  You know why?  Because Hollywood can’t seem to bear to do the right endings.  They almost always pull the punch.  This one has Matt Damon in it.  We’ll see.

Apollo 18.  I just love the tagline to this one:  “There’s a reason we’ve never gone back to the moon.”  It’ll probably suck.

Limitless.  I have no idea, but if it’s an SF movie without shit blowing up all the time, I’ll probably see it.

Sucker Punch.  Zach Snyder’s next effort.  And it’s got shit blowing up all the time.  It also has mecha, zeppelins, dragons, and some seriously kick-ass women.  So…hell yeah I’ll be there.

Paul.  Simon Pegg and Nick Frost.  ‘Nuff said.

Your Highness.  All I can say is it had better be actually funny and not stupid funny.

X-Men: First Class.  A period X-Men movie set in the 60’s.  I really want this to be good.  It probably won’t be.

Sherlock Holmes 2.  SQUEEEEEEE!

Can someone tell me why the hell The Thing and Planet of the Apes need prequels?  And why Fright Night needed to be remade, even if it does have David Tennant in it?

Now. Okay, this is the one that’s got my big gold star on it.  I don’t care what it’s about, it’s an Andrew Niccol film.  This is the guy who wrote The Truman Show, and wrote and directed Gattaca, one of the best SF films ever.  Excellent.

I reserve the right to change my opinion on anything once I see a trailer for it and get a sense of how it’s put together.

11 Responses to “it was the best of times, it was the worst of times…”

  1. LupLun Says:

    In fairness to Hollywood, Dick does have a reputation for laying the weirdness on pretty thick. I’ve only read one of his novels myself– Ubik— and that was enough for me. Explain to me how that ending makes a lick of sense on any level? That’s not a swipe at the book, it’s a great read, but if anyone can explain it to me, I’d really like that. I got lost about the time the villain was revealed to be… well, no spoilers here, but those who’ve read it will know what I mean…

    Personally, I’m waiting for Age of the Dragons. I figure a concept like that is either magnificently awful or just dumb enough to work. Plus, how often do you get to see Danny Glover chewing the scenery these days?

  2. Jared Says:

    You forgot about Tintin. A movie which was written by Steven Moffat, directed by Steven Spielberg, and has Jamie Bell, Andy Serkis, Daniel Craig, Simon Pegg and Nick Frost in it? Oh, and the sequel is being directed by Peter Jackson? Sign me up!

    Ah, Zack Snyder. I’m probably the only one who enjoyed Legend of the Guardians: The Owls of Ga’hoole, so I guess I’ll give Sucker Punch a go as well.

    Cowboys and Aliens could be godawful, but with that much awesome attached to it (Seriously, it’s like the awesomeness gods converged on making this or something), you bet I’ll be there.

    As for the new X-Men, it’s produced by Bryan Singer and directed by Matthew Stardust Vaughn, so it might be good after all.

    Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides can’t come soon enough. Though I will miss Will and Elizabeth. Still, I’ll probably be satisfied with this one, especially if Jack gets the Pearl back.

    As far as I’m concerned, Green Hornet looks atrocious.


  3. I’ll defend The Thing prequel based on the reasons given by the writing and directing team; there is so much story waiting to be explained when looking at the Norwegian camp. The story has been building in the guy since he first watched the movie, and he finally can tell it.

    Considering that images of The Thing have stayed with me since I first saw it as a wee lass, I can understand being inspired by it.

    When I thought it was going to be a remake, I was angry. Knowing it’s about the Norwegians, I’m kind of excited.

  4. Lionus Says:

    Sherlock Holmes 2?!!! Double SQUEEEEEEE !🙂

  5. Robert Says:

    Anything with Robert Downy Jr is on my must see list and has been since Kiss Kiss Bang Bang.

  6. JeffW Says:

    I assume some steampunking will be in order for Sherlock Holmes, right?

  7. Bradford Says:

    I’m looking forward to several movies coming out this year, and I’m pleased to hear about “The Adjustment Bureau” since I always look forward to movies based on Philip K. Dick stories. I still agree with the book jacket that called PKD “The most brilliant science fiction writer on any planet!”

    A film that’s probably under the radar, but one I want to see, is “I am Number 4” It seems to be about a fleeing alien hiding among earth teenagers, and seems along the lines of the excellent TV show “Roswell.” The director, DJ Caruso, scored a hit with the excellent movie “Disturbia.”

    I’m also looking forward to the english language version of “The Girl with the Dragon Tatoo” which is supposed to release in Dec. 2011. It will star Daniel Craig and Rooney Mara with direction by David Fincher. I want to see if Hollywood money and talent can produce a film that is worthy of Stieg Larsson’s excellent novel.

  8. mike Says:

    What we will not see is a Wonder Woman TV series despite rumors. At syfy.com theres an article that none of the networks were willing to finance the series. No real surprise ABC wasnt interested, seeing as that ABC is part of Disney/Marvel.

  9. Darkavich Says:

    I think the writers did a good job with Imposter. It’s the 1st PKD movie they improved on the ending.

  10. Bradford Says:

    I didn’t know about Imposter, I’ve just added it to my Netflix queue!

    As for PKD movie endings, I saw Total Recall in the theater and thought that the ending was brilliant! Unfortunately, I had the very odd experience of thinking that I was one of the very few people in the theater who understood the ending. Everyone seemed uplifted and happy, while I thought that the happy ending was clearly fake, and that what had really happened was very dark indeed. I don’t want to spoil anything for people who haven’t seen the movie, but for those who have, consider carefully the name of his memory implanted spy mission. Wasn’t it called “Blue Sky?”

  11. Kenyatta Says:

    While I don’t think “Fright Night” needed to be redone…the premise of the remake has me excited. I love Anton Yelchin (awsome in Charlie Bartlett, Star Trek as Chekov…and while Terminator Salvation blew chunks, he channeled a young Kyle Reese well), Colin Farrell as a vampire..come on tell me that doesn’t give you tingles..okay that’s just me apparently, and the Doctor Who dude. I’ll go see it.


Leave a Reply

