a question

January 6, 2011

If DC manages to get a live-action Justice League movie made the way Marvel is making the Avengers, does that mean we’ll finally get a feature-length Wonder Woman movie?  What’re the odds it’ll be any good?

This video will make you happy, trust me.

27 Responses to “a question”

  1. Liz Kreger Says:

    Depends who would play the part. Who would be your guess?

  2. mike Says:

    Last I heard WW is in discussions as a tv show not movie but even that is only in the planning stages. Should be articles about it over at Syfy.com

  3. Debbie W Says:

    Yup, it made me happy. Even made my husband smile. He’s a true comics geek & a big WW fan. So nice to be married to another geek!

  4. carriev Says:

    When Joss Whedon as director and Morena Baccarin as WW were being talked about, I was awfully excited. Then that went away. 😦

    I don’t suppose Anna Hathaway would do it…

  5. Jared Says:

    You should check out Linkara’s show, “Atop the Fourth Wall.” Not only does he delightfully rip apart bad comics, he’s also a huge Wonder Woman fan.

  6. carriev Says:

    I KNOW!!!

    Anna Hathaway needs to win a best actress Oscar so she can go and ruin her career by making a bad comic movie right after, like Halle Berry and Charlize Theron!

    Yay! I have it all worked out!

  7. T. Hernandez Says:

    I bet Anne Hathaway WOULD do it if someone would put together a good script. Wouldn’t it be great if it was done as a full on World War II period piece? Oh we can dream.

  8. Doruk Says:

    I think the problem is that very few women in Hollywood are buff enough to make a convincing amazon😛

  9. Steve Wheelock Says:

    If the movie had an actual premise, it might work. Without a premise, it’d probably be as goofy as “Godzilla Vs. The Sea Monster” without the humor.

  10. Adam. Says:

    MegaShark vs. Wonder Woman!

    The budget will be a buck fifty and noone will watch it.

    Be realistic, you’ll get Megan Fox and if you’re _really_ lucky it’ll merely suck.

  11. carriev Says:

    If it’s Megan Fox I will boycott that sucker.

  12. Robert Says:

    I saw a report that Christina Hendricks was being considered for the lead of WW.

  13. Jared Says:

    I’ve heard a suggestion somewhere (I forget where) that Salma Hayek could play her.

  14. Thomas Says:

    I think that I’ve seen mention of Selma Hayek or Kathrine Zeta Jones as WW in Entertainment Weekly.

  15. Patricia Mathews Says:

    I sorely fear they will louse up Wonder Woman the way they did the last two Catwoman movies. You know. “Put her in the sexiest costume you can and throw in a soppy plot for the purists and play silly-buggers with the actual character we all knew and loved.”

  16. carriev Says:

    They need to treat Wonder Woman the way they treated Batman Begins, Spider-Man and Iron Man: a serious story about this one person who has life changing experiences and goes to extremes and everyone can relate to and is fascinated by.

    Unfortunately, with Catwoman and Elektra, we got “Hmmm, cheesecake!” And then we got, “Well, those flopped, so obviously nobody likes comic book movies about women superheroes.” Gah!

    It’s soooo frustrating, because if they treated them like heroes instead of cheesecake we’d get good movies!

  17. Jared Says:

    Actually, speaking of Justice League and movies, what’s your impression of the upcoming Green Lantern movie? As someone who’s never read any of that particular comic, the trailers alone have managed to sell me on it.

    Still, when it comes to comic book movies, the three best are Spider-Man 2, Iron Man, and The Dark Knight (yeah, I didn’t like TDK at first, but it seems to get better and better every time I watch it).

  18. carriev Says:

    I *love* the Green Lantern trailer. Because they’re doing the Corps! OMG! And they also seem to be doing something that all the best comic book superhero films do (my faves being Spider-Man, Iron Man, Batman Begins, and X-Men): actually dealing with the nature of heroism, and the individual choices that go along with it. In the brief glimpses we get, Hal Jordan looks like a real guy, and when he’s the Green Lantern he looks so _intense_, and I love that.

  19. Jakk Says:

    The Wonder Woman movie was reported shelved this weekend. The details are on the link below:

    http://spinoff.comicbookresources.com/2011/01/08/warner-bros-shelves-wonder-woman/

  20. carriev Says:

    Sheeeeeeeeeet.

    I find it mind-numbingly astonishing that we’re getting a **Thor** movie of all things, and that there’s a freaking Ant Man movie in pre-production, but Wonder Woman can’t get off the ground to save her life. Gah, stupid Hollywood.

  21. David Bowles Says:

    Wonder Woman would be a very difficult movie to pull off for many reason I think. At least if you want it on the quality of Iron Man or Batman Begins.

    First off, Joss Whedon is the recent king of kick-butt babes, but it never seemed……. authentic. I don’t if that’s the right word, but watch Buffy or Serenity and then go watch Aliens or even Conan the Barbarian.

    The Joss Whedon women seem to be filmed with a *wink* *wink*; they are not viscerally powerful. There is no blood. It’s all choreographed crap.

    To be really believable for me, Wonder Woman would have to played by a fairly tall, fairly built actress. No skinny chicks allowed. That narrows the list so badly right there.

    I’m not sure how much of an audience there is in mainstream America for a real depiction of what Wonder Woman would REALLY be like.

    P.S. I do like the Thor trailer, but I didn’t know about Ant Man. That’s just depressing.

  22. Robert Says:

    I would like to see a WW TV series rather than a one shot movie. Give the actress some time to develop the character and grow. The actress needs to be more than cheese-cake, someone that has decent athletic skills would be a big plus in my book. Are there any athlete turned actresses out there with acting skills?

  23. Charles Monn Says:

    It’ll be tough to get someone as good as Linda Carter. The only actress that comes to mind that could play that role would have been Lucy Lawless.

    But that was back in the ’90s. I can’t think of any actresses that would be “sturdy” enough for the role of Wonder Woman.

  24. carriev Says:

    Just had a craaaaazy thought for casting:

    Zoe Bell?

    She’s primarily a stuntwoman, did double work for Lucy Lawless, but had a starring role in Quentin Tarantino’s Death Proof. She’s adorable and tough as nails.

  25. David Bowles Says:

    I just looked her up on IMDB. She is about as close as one might get I think.

  26. Charles Monn Says:

    Zoe could do it. I like her facial structure. She could definitely play the part of an amazon. I think Hollywood would go with someone younger, though.

  27. C Kelsey Says:

    FYI Carrie, WW has been picked up by NBC for at least a pilot episode. Yay!


Leave a Reply

