award nomination season

January 4, 2011

I’ve never done this before — posted all my stuff that came out in 2010 to remind the folk who are right now, as we speak, considering nominations for the Nebula and Hugo awards.  The weight of my Catholic Midwestern farmer military brat upbringing has meant that it always felt like bragging, or begging, both of which are bad.

Then I realized, no one else is going to do this sort of thing for me.  I did a lot of work in 2010 that I’m very proud of.  If I want people to notice, I really am going to have to shout it out.  So here it goes.

Short Stories:

Amaryllis, Lightspeed, June 2010.  (This has already gotten more attention faster than just about any other short story I’ve written.  Already reprinted once in Brave New Worlds, picked up for the Dozois Year’s Best…this is the little story that could.)

“Just Another Word,” Realms of Fantasy, April 2010.

“Wild Ride,” Running With the Pack, ed. Ekaterina Sedia.

“Kitty Learns the Ropes,” Full Moon City, ed. Darrell Schweitzer.

Novelettes:

“God’s Creatures,” Dark and Stormy Knights, ed. PN Elrod

“Ghost Girl Takes Manhattan,” Wild Cards Vol. 1, ed. George R.R. Martin.  (The book itself came out some twenty years ago, but the three new stories in it this year are eligible for nomination.)

“Rooftops,” Songs of Love and Death, ed. George R.R. Martin and Gardner Dozois.

(“The Girls From Avenger,” my story in Warriors, isn’t science fiction or fantasy.  But if anyone knows of any awards for mystery or historical stories, let me know!)

Novels:

Discord’s Apple, Tor Books. (Starred review in Publisher’s Weekly!)

Voices of Dragons, Harper Teen.  (As a YA novel, this is eligible for the Andre Norton Award.)

Kitty’s House of Horrors, Grand Central.

Kitty Goes to War, Tor Books.

It has been a very busy year.  Sometimes it’s nice just to see it all laid out there.

8 Responses to “award nomination season”

  1. Natasha J Says:

    I’ll be voting for you. Your work is some of my favorites ever. Congratulations on such a great year!

  2. Sue Rice Says:

    If you aren’t proud of what you’ve done and brag about it, who will? That’s a great point. Be modest but be proud of your accomplishments!


  3. Wow! That’s an impressive record!
    –by the way, I love the cover for “Steel”.

  4. carriev Says:

    Thanks! I’ve got the pre-book jitters on Steel…it can’t possibly live up to that awesome cover…

  5. Re WIlliams Says:

    Wow! All that in one year? Pat yourself on the back, put your feet up and spend a few minutes feeling satisfied. Congratulations on putting out so much good quality writing.


  6. It’s a great idea to think about what we’ve achieved, especially at new year, and your list is definitely impressive! Congrats on all your hard work in 2010 and may it continue in 2011!

    I’m especially looking forward to reading the next Kitty book! : )

  7. Debbie W. Says:

    I know it’s pointless to tell you pre-book jitters about Steel are unfounded ‘cos it will be wonderful. It’s just part of your psyche to have anxiety when each book comes out, so take a deep breath, okay?

    BTW, did you ever say who did the fabulous cover art for Steel?

  8. Thomas Says:

    I’ve been meaning to comment on this for a week but I’ve been so busy at work…

    I think I still need to finish reading the little story that could, but the bit I have read is awesome.

    Good luck on Voice’s winning the Andre Norton award. I’ve only read one of her books, but she was an amazing writer, just as you are!

    I’m really looking forward to Steel, sounds like an amazing book. No need for pre-book jitters I’m sure it’ll live up to the amazing cover!

    Can’t wait for the new Kitty books and After the Golden Age either! Maybe after After the Golden Age, I’ll have to hunt down Wild Cards.

    You’ve had a great year Carrie and it sounds like you’ll have another great year too! Pat yourself on the back and treat yourself to some rest!


Leave a Reply

