a quick post…

December 20, 2010

After turning in Kitty 10, I’ve given myself a bit of a break.  I’m still writing, but nothing involved, mostly note-taking and brainstorming and researching and stuff, figuring out what to work on next, and I’m quite enjoying it.

I’m way behind on my reading this year.  A few years ago I started keeping track of all the books I read, just to get a count, and to see if I really am a slow reader.  Funny thing, since I’ve been doing that the number of books per year has gone steadily down, which is a bit depressing.  I’d really like to be able to say I read a book a week every year, and that isn’t happening.  I have a huge stack of books on my to-read pile, so I’m in the process of getting through as many as I can over the next couple of weeks.  Right now I’m on a nonfiction book, Mapping Mars, which is turning out to be a a neat survey of not only Mars exploration, but of how maps are made, the difficulty of making maps of places no one’s ever been to, and, you know, what Mars actually looks like.  One of the coolest thing I’ve learned so far:  geologic maps of Mars have actually been made.  I had no idea.

And I’m going to go to the mall today, not because I have anything to get but because I like going to the mall during the holidays, and I haven’t been yet.  Crazy, I know!

4 Responses to “a quick post…”

  1. Thomas Says:

    Glad you gave yourself a break! It’s amazing what you don’t/can’t do when you’re working so much.

    Sounds like there might be a Mars and/or map making story brewing in your brain.

    Agreed about the book a week thing, I try to do around that, not that I keep an actual list. Mine seems to have been going down as well. Maybe I’ll try to keep a list too!

    Merry Christmas, Carrie!

  2. Thomas Says:

    By the way really awesome map of Mars!

  3. ArcLight Says:

    Hmm….not my usual fare but I like breaks from the usual stuff once in awhile and hey, cheap copies from Amazon.

  4. spiderorchid Says:

    It’s been my suspicion for years that those piles of ‘to read’ books on my nightstand secretely multiply in the dark… ~_^

    Happy Holidays!


Leave a Reply

