milestone

December 15, 2010

My SF short “Amaryllis” has been picked for the Year’s Best Science Fiction edited by Gardner Dozois.  This is a first for me, and I’m very excited.    It’s one of those milestones that’s been on my list since I started out.

15 Responses to “milestone”


  1. Congratulations Carrie!

  2. Jeanne-Marie Says:

    Well done!

  3. LupLun Says:

    Nice!

    Way back in community college, the library had a bunch of YBSF books and I used to browse them between classes. Regrettably, I don’t remember much except “Johnny Mnemonic” and some weird story about two African dictators deciding the fate of their countries with a boxing match. And Mr. Dozois’ curmudgeonly summations where he ranted on the ongoing demise of the SF magazines. (“It was again a very bad year…”)


  4. Oh, how awesome is that?

    Very happy for you!

  5. Debbie W Says:

    What an awesome honor! I thought it was an exceptional story & am so happy you’ve achieved another goal in your life. You deserve it!!

  6. Bradford Says:

    Well done! As an avid reader of Science Fiction in my youth I remember that the highest quality stories were always to be found in the “Best of” collections.


  7. Congratulations Carrie!

  8. DeAnna Says:

    Congratulations!

  9. spiderorchid Says:

    Congratulations! ^_^

  10. Ty Says:

    Well deserved for a long time.

  11. John Fiala Says:

    Congratulations!

  12. Todd Says:

    VIVAT! VIVAT! VIVAT! Joyous noise! (lots of clapping and hollering)

    Or in non-SCA lingo: Awesome! Most Excellent! Well done!

  13. Ann Says:

    Yay! I’ve looked for your name in Best anthologies, thinking you must be in one. Prescience, perhaps. I’m glad you can cross another milestone off your list!


Leave a Reply

