Tangled

December 8, 2010

This is now my favorite Disney princess movie of all time.

And can I say I’m really liking this trend of structuring these things like modern romance novels, where the hero and heroine don’t instantly fall in love, but only do so after a journey in which they have actual conversations, learn to trust each other, etc.  The Princess and the Frog did the same thing and I loved it too.

Also, Maximus totally rocks.

10 Responses to “Tangled”

  1. LupLun Says:

    I’ve heard a lot of good things about it. I might have gone to see it, if I could stand theaters anymore. Wait for the DVD, I guess.

    Is this really a new trend, though? I remember it as far back as Aladdin

  2. Daniela C Says:

    Oooooh! Can’t wait to take the kids to see it…(Really, we all know it’s for me!)

  3. LupLun Says:

    Actually, upon further reflection, I take that back. IIRC, Al and Jasmine are preparing to kiss a few minutes after their first meeting. (In, essentially, his bedroom, but that’s a level of subtext we needn’t get into.) There is a bit of it later, tying into the movie’s general theme of not trying to be something you’re not, but really… no.

  4. carriev Says:

    Yeah, that’s exactly it — in both “Tangled” and “The Princess and the Frog,” the main characters, male and female, are fully developed, and have agency and goals that are entirely separate from “hook up with the person the plot has placed in front of me.”

    I really like this. It makes the moment near the end of “Tangled” when Flynn *spoiler* really spectacular.

  5. Doruk Says:

    Also, Rapunzel is totally badass! Somebody pointed out to me how it is always her saving Flynn rather than the other way around.

    Furthermore, the bipolar scene is the funniest thing I have seen in a long time.

  6. carriev Says:

    Haha, yes. Flynn is used to getting by on his charm which a) doesn’t work on Rapunzel and b) doesn’t work with the police are after you.

    The thing is, that “this is great!/I’m so horrible!” scene is SO EXACTLY TRUE. Every woman in the theater was going “Oh God yes I know exactly how she feels.”

  7. Doruk Says:

    I am a married man, I know how it goes too😛

  8. Kristian Says:

    I will have to see this, I guess. Though my favorite Disney (non-Pixar type) movie is still Beauty and the Beast, which is also along classic romance story. Hell, it may explicitly be a romance, though dancing china is a little odd.

  9. Cat Says:

    Am I the only one that found Mother Goethal to be one of the most believable villains Disney has dropped in lately?
    The level of psychological abuse she puts out on Rapunzel makes me hate her more than any of the other villains I’ve seen in a Disney Princess story yet.

  10. carriev Says:

    No, you’re not the only one. The “you know I’m the only one who will ever love you” thing was very squicky… Esp. when you just knew she had no interest in Rapunzel as a person.

    Have you seen the musical Into the Woods? Another good take on the wicked witch in the story, as someone who really does love Rapunzel like a mother but they can’t get past the fact the she kidnapped the kid on a revenge kick.


Leave a Reply

