Harry Potter and the oh god there’s still one more of these…

December 6, 2010

My description of the book Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows is as follows:  It’s 800 pages of camping.  The movie version captures that spirit admirably.

When the previous movie, Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince, finished I said, Well, at least there’s only one more.  To which a friend replied, Oh didn’t you know, they’re splitting the next one into two movies.  To which I replied, NOOOOOOOOOOOOO!

It’s not that these are bad movies.  It’s not that I don’t like watching them.  I do think the series peaked at Goblet of Fire, my favorite of both the books and the movies.  Everything after that has been bloated and angsty.  At this point, I have the feeling of being at mile 23 of a marathon.  I’m going to finish, dammit, because I’ve come so far and the end is so close.  But boy am I tired.

The movie version of The Deathly Hallows did a couple of things I quite liked:  it fixed one of the serious problems I had with the plot in the book (Remember that ill-conceived plan we had to use polyjuice potion to sneak into the worst place we could possibly sneak into?  Let’s do it again!), and the animated sequence telling the story of the Three Brothers was downright gorgeous.

6 Responses to “Harry Potter and the oh god there’s still one more of these…”

  1. Beth Robinson Says:

    I absolutely LOVED the animated sequence telling the story of the Three Brothers! It was beautiful!

  2. Kathryn Says:

    I turned to my friend after that animated sequence and told her the $11 was worth it just to see that. I hope they do more.

  3. Cathy Sims Says:

    I submit that it’s not 800 pages of camping. It’s 750 pages of camping and 50 pages of teenagers doing stupid things that should get them killed, but don’t because it’s fiction.

  4. David Bowles Says:

    I must admit that quit reading this series because for whatever reason, Voldemort does nothing for me as an antagonist. Perhaps after growing up with Darth Vader, hiding on the back of some dude’s head just doesn’t seem like a good entrance. We won’t get into how much less slick Voldemort is than Sauron.

  5. Markysan Says:

    I hate it that I have to explain this movie to everyone that hasn’t read the books.

    Regarding the book, it fell short of my expectations, but when I re-read the series later on (without any expectations) I liked it much better.

  6. Ty Says:

    I was unable to make it all the way through the first book, and I’ve only seen bits of the movies.

    Having said that, I appreciate any author who writes a long series and has the balls to actually plan for and then write an ending. I don’t like Harry Potter, but I respect Rowling for that.


Leave a Reply

