in flight movies

December 3, 2010

Flying internationally in the modern world is so awesome because you get your own little TV on the seat back in front of you, with a whole movie and TV library to select from.  (Versus the days when everybody in the cabin had to watch the same movie on the screen up front…)  On my past trip, I decided to watch a couple of movies that I wouldn’t pay money up front to watch.

The Sorcerer’s Apprentice

This had some nice ideas that I really liked.  The main character is a physics student, and magic is described as being a (mystical, of course) manipulation of matter on an atomic level, which makes the main character particularly suited for his destiny.  Too bad he’s such a whining annoying git.  The film had some nice action set pieces, that made no sense in terms of the plot.  There wasn’t a plot so much as action set pieces strung together haphazardly.  When did this become the standard mode of action movie storytelling?  Oh, and once again:  we do not need an opening flashback/voice over explaining the back story if one of the characters is going to explain the entire back story halfway through the movie!  Stop doing this!

Predators

You know, I really loved this for the first forty minutes or so.  Competent characters figuring stuff out.  Alien planetscapes.  Bloody hideousness.  Then…I completely lost the story about halfway through, about when our intrepid heroes discovered crazy Laurence Fishburne.  Now, this may be because the sound was bad.  It may be because I was on my second mini-bottle of wine.  But I could not for the life of me figure out what was going on through the second half.  Everybody died messily.  But you know, I was expecting that.  And then the doctor (and to think I thought it was so clever, the Predators gave them a doctor to keep them alive longer!) turned out to be a serial killer?  Huh?

11 Responses to “in flight movies”

  1. Andrew Says:

    “…whining annoying git.”

    Someone’s been in jolly old England.🙂

  2. carriev Says:

    “git” is one of the most useful words I picked up when I lived there…

  3. Jared Says:

    There wasn’t a plot so much as action set pieces strung together haphazardly. When did this become the standard mode of action movie storytelling?

    Considering the story meetings for Raiders of the Lost Ark consisted of Spielberg and Lucas listing scenes they’d like to see and then leaving Lawrence Kasdan to write a script based on that list, I’d say this practice goes back a long way.

    I quite liked Predators myself. The fact that it’s the only sequel in the franchise that rivals the first one in quality doesn’t hurt

  4. wygit Says:

    Totally off the subject, but I hadn’t noticed the cover for “Steel” yet… I don’t know why, I follow the blog, just overlooked it.

    LOVE the cover art.

    Googled it, and see:

    Amazon.com: Steel (9780061547911): Carrie Vaughn: Books
    $11.46 – In stock

    heh. Did you KNOW it was in stock at Amazon?
    (it’s not, it’s just the way the Google results are returned, I think.)

  5. Manda Says:

    Even more off topic: http://cupcakestakethecake.blogspot.com/2010/12/steampunk-vegan-chocolate-cupcakes-with.html

    Steampunk cupcakes! They made me think of you, Carrie.

  6. Jakk Says:

    About Predators, it has been established that they only hunt OTHER predators. Civilians are NO true test of a hunt. Think of the girl in the first movie, or once the predator determined the female officer in the second movie was pregnent. They have no problem attacking anything attacking them, but they will not attack non-combantants. It was actually a good movie.

    Sorcerer’s Apprentice. I really wanted this movie to be good. It was Bloody AWFUL(And i agree..he was a whinny git). I still hope Nic Cage can make good movies again. Sigh.

  7. carriev Says:

    You know, I’ll confess, I usually come up with the big action set pieces in a novel, or at least the big turning points, before writing the whole thing. I’ll even write them out of order. But then I READ THE WHOLE THING OVER to make sure it all makes sense, and rewrite it to make sure everything fits with everything else.

    I’m not convinced that stage ever happened on “The Sorcerer’s Apprentice.” Or Transformers, or Terminator Salvation, or The Island, or…

  8. wygit Says:

    Back on the subject, (thinking about this later) on the “Too bad he’s such a whining annoying git” subject…

    I’ll probably be banned from reading or watching fantasy for life for saying this, but I always kinda felt the same way about Frodo Baggins.

    I’ve noticed when I’m watching the DVDs that, once the Fellowship splits up, I tend to fast forward through a lot of the scenes with Frodo, just because he’s so annoying…

  9. mikeb Says:

    Off topic comment,
    I just read “Rooftops” in the Songs of Love and Death anthology. Very well done!

  10. carriev Says:

    wygit: the second time I read Lord of the Rings I skipped all the Hobbit sections and went straight to the Elves and Aragorn…

  11. carriev Says:

    mikeb — thanks!


Leave a Reply

