Red

October 18, 2010

For the most part, I really enjoyed it.  Especially the first half, where everything came out of left field and bowled me over.  (“I’m getting a pig!”)  Oddly enough, the pacing in the second half fell off quite a bit, but the amazing cast carried it forward.  I want to see Malkovich in more “OMG he’s really crazy” roles rather than just the belligerent eccentric he usually plays.

And Helen Mirren firing a tripod-mounted machine gun.  The whole thing is worth it for just for that.

What I hated:  I really hate romantic storylines in which the hero is rewarded for truly squicky stalker behavior.  Not to mention the whole kidnapping thing.  Can we say Stockholm Syndrome?  That wasn’t a romance, that was a diagnosable disorder requiring therapy.

And Red got so very, very close to passing the Bechdel Test…and just missed it.  Damn.

5 Responses to “Red”

  1. Doug Says:

    To be fair, it was a really nice hat. (re: Bechdel Test)

  2. Jakk Says:

    To be fair, if the kidnapping had not happened, she would of been dead very soon.

    I also enjoyed it. I was expecting a action movie, and instead got a hybrid of that with a romantic comedy. Was kind of nice, and the performances were great.

  3. Lionus Says:

    “What I hated: I really hate romantic storylines in which the hero is rewarded for truly squicky stalker behavior. Not to mention the whole kidnapping thing. Can we say Stockholm Syndrome? That wasn’t a romance, that was a diagnosable disorder requiring therapy.”

    Isn’t anti-social, anti-hero, quasi-psychotic behavior now the stock-in-trade of Hollywood contemporary movies? “Blood: A Terrorist Romance” — He planned to blow up the world during the day-time, but dreamed of holding her in his arms at night.” Now tell me that is not a winning plot line.

  4. Mom Says:

    I’m a little late. The kidnapping thing didn’t bother me so much, he was saving her life. What does bother me, as an older woman, is why the love interest had to be 20 – 30 years younger than the hero! Are women no longer worthwhile after 30 or 40? That’s what bothers me – I guess I’m showing my age.


Leave a Reply

