steampunk mark 4

October 17, 2010

Here’s Mark 4, one of the more successful iterations, I must say.  This was for a party I went to back in August, but with the rush of going to Australia and trying to get actual work done, I hadn’t gotten around to posting it until now.  (Photo by the elegant Charleigh Loder.)

So, I sat ALL DAY with my hair in wet curlers trying to get it into ringlets.  You see how well that worked.  I guess if I want ringlets, I really ought to go with a wig.  I may try pin curls next, if I can scrounge up the patience for it.

9 Responses to “steampunk mark 4”

  1. Stephanie Gutierrez Says:

    What a stunning picture!You look absolutely gorgeous! And I love your costume!! That must have been a fun party!

  2. MDL Says:

    I’ve had good luck with pin curls, especially if they’re small, I put them up the night before, and I spritz them down with water every couple of hours. But then, I learned how to do pin curls from the American Girls books, so there might be an easier way.

    (My hair’s also a lot wavier than yours, methinks.)

  3. carriev Says:

    My hair is as fine as cornsilk and about as manageable. I’m having a little bit of luck with moussing the hell out of it. I’m curious to try the pin curls, but I may just have to go with wavy!

  4. Tina C. Says:

    try sponge rollers with beer (the darker the better – my family always used Guinness) as a “setting lotion” – you dip a comb in the beer, run it through a strand and wind the strand onto the sponge roller (do this the night before, sleep on it and in the morning perfect ringlets). I come from a family of Irish Dancers and all of us have stick straight heavy hair and nothing else has worked for us. You will be able to smell the beer faintly, but it’s not strong and I’ve never had anyone else notice the smell.

  5. Jackie Says:

    Pin curls work pretty well for me. I have lots of very fine hair that nothing stays in too. Even when it’s longer like yours it worked. And it actually doesn’t take as long as you would think to do them. Start with wet hair. When they’re all in, just cover them with a bandana.

  6. Thomas Says:

    Nice outfit. I love the vest/corset thing on top. I still think your hair looks great even though the Ringlets didn’t turn out. Would be awesome if they did though!

    Good luck with the pin curls!


  7. What a fantastic photo Carrie. The look really suits you.

  8. Re Williams Says:

    Great outfit! Is this one you made?

  9. carriev Says:

    They’re all store bought pieces I put together.


Leave a Reply

