playlist shenanigans

October 12, 2010

At kind of the last minute, I’ve decided that Kitty’s Greatest Hits needs a playlist.  It’s a Kitty book, it’s a tradition, it really needs one — one song for each story.  I had songs in mind for half of the stories already, I might as well.  Trouble is, I didn’t have specific songs to go with the other half.  Especially the Cormac stories, because I’m not sure Cormac is the kind of guy who listens to a whole lot of music or pays much attention to it even when he does.  In my mind, his stories (and there are three of them) are quiet. The sound of wind on the prairie.  The sound of snow falling.  I spent some time last night going through my music (so much easier to do now that most of it is digital!) trying to figure out what would go with those stories.

And I think I’ve got some ideas.

First, here’s a song I associated with the story “The Book of Daniel” (how the story of Daniel and the Lion’s Den went down in a world where lycanthropes exist) from the first moment I wrote it:

And here’s the one I think I’m going to use for the story “Looking After Family” (in which Cormac and Ben, age 16, go hunting):

When in doubt, go instrumental.

Also, cover art for both Kitty’s Greatest Hits and Kitty’s Big Trouble should be along shorty — I’ve seen the initial versions of them.

10 Responses to “playlist shenanigans”

  1. Andrew Says:

    Kitty’s Big Trouble? Is that Kitty #9?

  2. David Crooks Says:

    There’s some stuff from the 70s that could work, too – Brian Eno, or early Kraftwerk (“Kometenmelodie 1” off of the “Autobahn” album, for example).
    And if you like Vangelis, you might like Tomita.
    (These suggestions should NOT be taken as a criticism of what you already chose – just tossing stuff out there)

  3. Mom Says:

    Maybe Cormac would listen to country-western music? or old style cowboy music?

  4. spiderorchid Says:

    I would associate Cormac with quiet too – he’s the strong, silent type after all… ^_^ Seriously, would someone like him listen to pop music? Perhaps rather classical music?

    I’ve always liked the “Mask and Mirror” album, in my opinion one of McKennitt’s best.

  5. carriev Says:

    Yes, Kitty’s Big Trouble is #9.

    I’ve actually come up with some pretty good stuff for Cormac, across all styles of music. Anything with an edge that’s also kind of sad and desperate seems to work.

  6. DavidC Says:

    Well, if you want edge+sad+desperate…
    Try “Duality” by Slipknot.
    “I push my fingers into my eyes
    “It’s the only thing that slowly stops the ache
    “But it’s made of all the things I have to take…”

  7. Robert Says:

    I have always thought of Cormac as a “Man in Black” – Johnny Cash kind of guy.

    I Walk the Line
    Folsom Prison Blues

    These just scream Cormac to me.

  8. Adam. Says:

    La Deguello

    He’d get plenty of use out of it.

  9. A Cranky Coyote Says:

    I always thought Cormac, if he listened to music, might be a James McMurtry kind of guy.

    Too Long In The Wasteland

    Lights of Cheyenne

    No More Buffalo

    Late Norther

  10. E. A. V. Says:

    I was wondering if you’d ever heard Kid Cudi’s song ‘Alive’? The refrain lyrics go ‘Every time the moon shines I become alive.’ I was listening to my local college’s radio and thought of your playlist for Kitty when I heard this song.

    Here’s a link: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XGPam7oeQRs


Leave a Reply

