a random scattered blog post

October 4, 2010

Exactly two weeks after returning from Australia, I’m still in the throes of catching up on work.  I turned in the copyedits for After the Golden Age, my superhero novel in which main character Celia West must save the city with accounting.  No, really.  I’m currently working on revisions to Kitty’s Greatest Hits, the long-discussed and awaited Kitty short-story collection, that will include the “what happened to Cormac” novella.  And I’m piling on the word count on the first draft of Kitty #10, which doesn’t even have a working title yet, alas.

I finally cleaned my desk off, because my mother is coming over tomorrow to help with some accounting stuff and I didn’t want to spend the visit apologizing for the fact that there was a foot-high stack of junk on either side of the keyboard.  (The foot-high stack of junk is now only on one side of the keyboard…)

The only TV I’m watching right now is Castle, which broke my heart a tiny little bit last week.  It’s been a long time since I’ve had a show where I wake up in the morning and think, “Oh, good, there’s a new episode of [whatever] today!”

Crafts:  when I have a lot of work, the urge to craft becomes great indeed.  I’m not sure if this is Murphy’s Law (I have no time, so of course I want to spend it doing things that have nothing to do with what I ought to be doing) or a true need for my brain to spend some time decompressing.  I’m knitting A Thing.  I think it will be a fancy steampunk scarf.  I’ve also finished spinning a chunk of bamboo fiber.  BAMBOO!  I know!  Also, Halloween is coming up, and I have no idea what to wear.  If I can manage to sew this other Thing that I want to make, I may wear that.

My schedule for next year is pretty much already booked up, which is shocking to me, and which means I may have to start saying no to things, which I hate.  I’ve been invited to be Guest of Honor at two (count them, two!) conventions, CopperCon in Phoenix on Labor Day Weekend in September, and Capclave in Maryland in October, where Catherynne Valente (squee!) will also be GoH, which guarantees it will be a  most excellent rocking shindig.  And for all you folks who’ve been asking me about hitting the East Coast, there ya go!  I’ve been Toastmaster at two conventions, but these will be my first GoH gigs, which is a huge milestone and I’m awfully excited.

I’m also planning on going to Worldcon in fabulous Reno, Nevada; and San Diego ComicCon.  This is in addition to most of my usual cons and stuff.  I will update my schedule when I get more links in order and have a moment to think.

And a question:  Is it autumn where you are?  It is here.  The leaves are going to gold, and it’s cold in the morning when Lily and I take our walk.  Any day now we’ll get our first cold, damp, rainy  morning, and we’ll start looking for snow…

16 Responses to “a random scattered blog post”

  1. Doug Says:

    Yup, we are in Autumn now in Anchorage, AK. Many leaves fell in last night’s wind, and we have had frost on a few mornings. ‘Tis a beautiful time of year.

  2. Doruk Says:

    It wasn’t autumn until about this morning here. Brrrrrrrr.

  3. spiderorchid Says:

    I’m so looking forward to that short-story collection! ^_^
    Question: will the story from the “Running with the pack” anthology be in it too, or is this a reprint of older stories?

    I always get the urge to craft the more I have to work, too. I think it’s got for balance.

    It’s definitly autumn in the North of Germany. Warm during the day, but windy and the leaves are beginning to turn red and gold. Cold nights, so my cat’s grumpy.

  4. T. Hernandez Says:

    I am also looking forward to the short story collection. Love short stories! Last week we had our hottest day on record in Downtown L.A. since they started keeping records. Today it’s cloudy and rainy and cool. It’s fall but there ain’t nothin’ normal about it.

  5. Joe Delinski Says:

    I read somewhere, maybe, that right brain activity (artsy crafty things) does this crossover transfer stuff during sleep that creates new thought avenues the perceptive parts of the mind can use for new ideas and approaches to left brain word stuff. It may have been in Drawing On the Right Side of the Brain. I used that to learn to draw at 40. yes, looking for short stories…

  6. Joe Delinski Says:

    Also ‘castle’ is big favorite of mine, I am not big on TV. am a big Firefly fan so I gave it a try and enjoy it. It is interesting to see what the writers do with the tension thing between the leads. It seems to be formula for TV that it is the death of the series if they are allowed to be a couple. That has to be wrong, it just hasn’t been done right yet? lately… one more time, it.

  7. Cathy Says:

    It’s finally feeling like autumn here in DC. Unlike the last week in September which had an identity and thought it was the dog days of August. Although the leaves are still green, at least in my neighborhood.


  8. GoH, eh? Most awesome! Congrats!

    See ya at MileHiCon!

  9. Annamal Says:

    Very much spring here, the parrots are taking over our valley, the tuis are warbling and there’s cherry blossoms, ducklings and tulips in the public gardens.

    Still freaking cold because our wind blows straight in from Antarctica but we’re getting the occasional mild sunny day and everything smells like it’s growing.

  10. Liz Kreger Says:

    I’ve been so remiss in hitting blogs that I didn’t even know you were in Australia. How fun! I looooove Australia. Lived there for a year and have been back since. We’re waiting for the little darlin’ to get a little older before we return.

    Sounds like you’ve got a busy schedule coming up, Carrie. Good luck with that.

    Autumn is approaching here in Wisconsin. The leaves are turning and the nights are cold … although the days are still hovering around the 60-70 degree mark. Not ready for winter yet, but whatcha gonna do?

  11. carriev Says:

    Yes, the story from Running With the Pack (“Wild Ride”) will be in the collection, which will also have some older stuff…

  12. spiderorchid Says:

    Thanks for the info! I’m not that into werewolves (your books are among the very few on the subject that I can stand), so I wasn’t very motivated to get “Running with the Pack”. I’ll just wait now for your collection. ^_^

  13. LupLun Says:

    Forgive me, but… “Kitty #10”? I count only eight so far. Unless Greatest Hits is #9? Or did I miss something?

  14. carriev Says:

    I need to have the first draft finished about a year before the book actually hits stores. #9 is “Kitty’s Big Trouble” and will be out in June 2011. I’m working on #10 now so it can be released in early 2012.

  15. Andrea Widener Says:

    I know I’m a few days late, but … yea! You’re coming to Maryland! I hope you come stay with me for a day, at least.

  16. Nonny Says:

    YESSSSSSS!!! You’re finally coming to Comic-Con!!! Happy dance!!! LOL I am preregistered, and yesterday I found Tanka Bars (best high enough protein low calorie bar ever) with a Best By date of Dec 2011 on sale, so I’m ready. 🙂


Leave a Reply

