checking in

July 17, 2010

It’s the last day of Launch Pad, and I’ll have lots to say about it and pictures and things to share when I get a chance to sort out my thoughts and stuff.  I estimate that we’ve gotten 40+ hours of astronomy instruction — a whole semester, basically — in a week.  That’s a lot of info pouring into my head.  But it seems to be sticking, which is awfully exciting.  I’ve watched any number of Discovery Channel specials on “the cosmos,” but it’s a pretty shallow delivery of information, and it kind of goes in one ear and out the other.  But right at this moment, I can actually explain the difference between various types of nebulae.  And did you know there are different kinds of nebulae?

3 Responses to “checking in”

  1. Jakk Says:

    Future story research! =D Go Team Carrie!

  2. Jakk Says:

    Oh..i almost forgot:
    Dark Nebulae
    Open Clusters
    Globular Clusters
    Supernova/SN Remenents
    Galaxies
    Emission Nebulae
    Reflection Nebulae
    Planetary Nebulae

    Yes i did!

  3. Debbie W. Says:

    How exciting!! My favorite courses in college were 2 astronomy classes I took just for fun. At that same local college, they had a small planetarium & for several years when I was in elementary school, my parents would take me to the public showings on a regular basis. Some of my fondest childhood memories of my dad are when we used to sleep out in the backyard on lounge chairs so we could watch the stars & pick out constellations. I didn’t know it then, but my fate as a SF/F geek was sealed!


Leave a Reply

