FAQ: How many Kitty books will there be?

October 27, 2009

I just signed a contract for four more Kitty books.  Those will be novels # 8, 9 and 10 in the series, and the long-discussed Kitty short story collection (including the Cormac and Ben story “Looking After Family,” and the Cormac novella that shows what’s been happening to him over the last few books).

Beyond that, I’m not exactly sure how many books there will be.  When I started the series, I thought I’d write five books, tops.  But I keep getting ideas that don’t fit in the book I’m writing, so I put them off for the next book.  So far, I’ve been reliably developing ideas for two or more books past the one I’m currently working on.  As long as that keeps happening, I’ll keep writing the series.

However, I do have an end point in mind.  I know what the last book in the series looks like, and I really want to write that one some day, a) because it’s so cool, I’ve got some awesome stuff lined up, really; and b) I think most series really do have natural lifespans and I want the series to end while it’s still fun to write — and read.

In the meantime, though, I’m wrapping up the first draft of the eighth book this week.  I’ll be ready to start outlining the ninth book shortly after that, and I’ve started the “crock pot” on book 10 bubbling.  After that, we’ll have to see what I can come up with.

28 Responses to “FAQ: How many Kitty books will there be?”

  1. Jenn L Says:

    That’s great news! I love the Kitty books. Congratulations on your success!

  2. Moishe Moose Says:

    Mazel Tov on the new contract!!!! I hope there are lots more books after #10 ‘cos that’ll mean you’re still having fun writing them. But we’ll NEVER get tired of reading them … or in my case, Re-reading them, too.

    Any idea when the collection of short stories would be done? Please, Mr/Ms Publisher, don’t make us wait too long!

  3. EmeraldWolfHeart Says:

    *jumps up and down happily* Yay!! More books to read in the future, I’m chomping at the bit for the one that’s releasing in January.
    I wish you the best of luck with writing the future books, you have yet to fail at entertaining me. Actually I’m rereading all the books in the Kitty series right now, I’m a bit fixated on werewolves as of late.

  4. Elena. Says:

    Great news. At least four more books. YAY! I am looking forward to every one of them.

  5. Doruk Says:

    Now if we could only exploit irregularities of space/time continuum so they would all be out next week…

  6. Anna Says:

    Congratulations! I’m eagerly awaiting each one!

  7. JeffW Says:

    I’m very glad to see that the short story collection will finally see the light of day. You’ve been talking about that one for a long time.

    Congratulations on the future books!

  8. Trai Says:

    This is great news, Carrie; congratulations! I’m really looking forward to the short story collection; I’ve been dying to read those Cormac ones. Yay for more Kitty!

  9. Cat Says:

    Sweet. New contract, more books, and an author that understands about series and storytelling! I’d hate for Kitty to start wandering around like SOME writers who should have stopped before they turned their story into a supernaturally muddled bed hopping festival… not that I’m naming anyone, of course.

    I’m greatly curious about Cormac’s time in prison… he seems to have a giant “Does not play well with others” sign on his back, and I don’t know how well he’d get along in prison culture…

  10. David Bowles Says:

    Not to put any pressure on you via comparison, but the late, great Robert Jordan had originally planned the Wheel of Time to be a trilogy. (So I understand)

    Almost 20 years later, the final book of this series is actually three books. Some stories just grow out of their intended framework.

    Congrats on the contract!

  11. Jenn Says:

    “Sweet. New contract, more books, and an author that understands about series and storytelling! I’d hate for Kitty to start wandering around like SOME writers who should have stopped before they turned their story into a supernaturally muddled bed hopping festival… not that I’m naming anyone, of course.”

    :cough:LKH:cough:

    I am relieved that you have an idea of where you want Kitty to end. Though I’m also excited about 4 more books. (Doesn’t that mean through book 11? Or was House of Horrors not covered by a contract until now?)

    I look forward to seeing what else you come up with. The pirate novel has me particularly curious.

    How many Kitty-universe short stories are there, as of the moment?
    I’m glad the Kitty stories will get their own book, but I truly hope to see some of your other short stories reprinted as well.

  12. Lionus Says:

    I am currently on my fourth re-reading of the series and it has not failed to make me laugh, get teary eyed and be delighted by the “friends” I meet again between the pages.

    “I think most series really do have natural lifespans”. Well if I may be so bold to remind you, that was what Sir Arthur thought when he sent Sherlock over Reichenback Falls, wasn’t it?

  13. Meg Says:

    Hurrah! I’m really liking the short-story collection. Not that the novels aren’t awesome, because I adore Kitty, but I want to know what Cormac’s been up to in jail. XD

  14. Kendall Says:

    That short story collection’s going to be cool! I’ll be looking forward to reading that, along with books 7-10. 😀

  15. carriev Says:

    Thanks, everyone.

    House of Horrors is #7, and is the last book on the old contract. So yes, four new books make it 11 total, but I don’t count the short story collection as part of the series, per se. So the novels are 8,9,10, plus one.

    I’d have to count short stories, but it’s about a dozen I want to say. Plus the “Cormac in prison” novella, which is a pretty big story on all its own.

  16. Jaws Says:

    Since Kitty will now go to 11 volumes, will the short story collection be entitled KITTY AND THE SPINAL TAP DRUMMER?

  17. Gillian Says:

    Congrats, Carrie!

    I’m very glad you’re happy to write and the publishers hare happy to distribute more Kitty.

  18. Gathers Scrolls Says:

    Yay! New books. 🙂 (Now, I’ll have to re-arrange my shelves . . . again. Between you, Pratchett, Patrick Rothfuss, Simnon R. Green & Jim Butcher, I may have to invest in a pocket-dimension. 😀 )

  19. Rubymoon Says:

    How wonderful! That is fantastic news, and I know everyone will eagerly await more stories. I know I will.

  20. Robert Z Says:

    Thats great news. I love the Kitty books. I can’t wait for each one.

  21. Benjamin Says:

    Yeeha! More Kitty books! I’m looking forward to the short story collection too.

  22. Cat Says:

    “Between you, Pratchett, Patrick Rothfuss, Simnon R. Green & Jim Butcher, I may have to invest in a pocket-dimension.”

    That’s all? I’ve got (based on the short estimate for a /. poll) at least 75 linear feet worth of books, mostly series and non-series chunks of authors. I’d try to go for ebooks, but buying electronic copies of the books (if they exist) would bankrupt me! Heck, that lot you mention along with Weber, Jordan, Thurman, Briggs… I hate having to move! >_<

  23. Weasy Says:

    Congrats on the new contract! I’m really happy to hear that more Kitty books will be headed our way in the future. I hope you keep having fun with it for a long, long time. =D

  24. MDL Says:

    Fantastic! I will (and have!) happily bought everything that you are willing to write, but I do love Kitty. (And the supposrting cast! I think Kitty has some of the best romantic and non-romatic relationships that I’ve ever seen in urban fantasy.)


  25. […] Vaughn has announced that she just signed a contract for four more Kitty Norville novels, which will take the total […]


  26. […] Vaughn has announced that she just signed a contract for four more Kitty Norville novels, which will take the total […]

  27. taryn Says:

    Congrats! my wish is that you still somehow manage to write in kitty getting together w/ cormac…it would be the ultimate cherry on top.

  28. SilverRoseWolf Says:

    Wonderful!
    Having devoured “House of Horrors” in a matter of hours, I’m desperately awaiting another Kitty book to read, so knowing there will be at least another 3 makes me very happy. As a reader who tends to favour Werewolves over Vampires, it is so good to have such an enjoyable and well written series that puts ‘wolves in the limelight.

    In the meantime, I’ll just have to make-do with the new Jim Butcher ~ but between you, Jim and Tamora, I’m rapidly running-out of shelf space!


Leave a Reply

