FAQ: Are you going to write any books that aren’t about Kitty?

July 1, 2009

Yes.

VoicesofDragons

I’ve been waiting a long time to tell folks about this.  I decided I’d announce it when I had a cover to show off.  And, well, here it is.  Meet Voices of Dragons, my first young adult novel, previously discussed as the rock climbing jet fighters alternate history dragon book.  Pretty cool, huh?  I didn’t think I was going to write a YA book.  I tried writing it as an adult book, but it wasn’t working.  Then I made the main character a teenager, and the plot fell together due to various reasons I don’t want to go into because they’re spoilers.  Ta da, a YA novel.  Then Harper wanted to publish it.  How cool is that?

To answer the question a little more generally, I have lots of other books I’ve written/am writing.  Now that I’ve been writing Kitty books for about 6 years (I wrote Midnight Hour early in 2003), I’m finding that if I can skip around, and write something else after writing a Kitty book, I can go back to the Kitty books with fresh eyes and keep them from getting stale.  I think that’s important.

I have a couple of other novels that I wrote after Midnight Hour and Kitty Goes to Washington, while I waited to find out if I was going to be writing more Kitty books.  These are a superhero novel and a near-future end of the world with Greek mythology chucked in novel, and I’m hoping they’ll see the light of day at some point.  I’m also working on the second YA novel, which has time travel and pirates.  I’m cooking a fantasy novel, but I don’t know if anything will come of it.  Right now, after the pirate book and the next couple of Kitty books, I have no idea what I’ll be working on.  But something will come up.  Something always does.

The release date for Voices of Dragons is March 2010.

32 Responses to “FAQ: Are you going to write any books that aren’t about Kitty?”

  1. JeffW Says:

    Great cover art!
    Will Voices of Dragons be pocket paperback, trade paperback, or hardback? (‘Cause I’d love to see you get a hardcover!)

  2. carriev Says:

    Hardcover. Woot!

  3. Astres Says:

    Fwee! Pretty cover pretty cover! Can’t wait to crack it open.

  4. Jim Van Pelt Says:

    Carrie, that is very cool. You’ve been holding out on us *g*

  5. carriev Says:

    Yes Jim, a little. There were some issues involved with not blabbing about it too much, so I just didn’t say anything at all. But the word’s out now!

  6. Nozomi Says:

    This is the most exciting news since bread loafs.

  7. Meg Says:

    Excellent! You’ve put three of my favorite things together in one novel. I can’t wait for this one!

  8. Thomas Says:

    I was wondering when you’d make a post about this. I was looking around on borders.com a few nights ago and they had the book up w/o the cover art.

    I’m so looking forward to this book. Yay for more books!

  9. Robert Says:

    I have been wondering when you would spring something new on us. You can’t keep using the same characters for decades without going batty. (Not that this has happened to any of my former favorite female horror novelists in the past…)

    It is funny to read some of the complaints on Jim Butcher’s blog that he is wasting time putting out anything but the Dresden Files. Everyone needs a sanity check and a chance to look at the story from a distance.

    Normally I am not into YA but you have earned an extra read from me. =)

  10. Patrick Swenson Says:

    Yahoo! Nice, Carrie. I had no idea this was in the works, so you surprised me. But not surprised me, if you know what I mean.


  11. Yay! I”m very excited for this!


  12. Groovy! Been waiting to hear more about this one.

  13. Bradford Says:

    Congrats! First YA, first hardcover. Very nice!

  14. Jakk Says:

    Congrats on the new novel!

    Great cover as well. I have enjoyed Rachel Caine, Kim Harrison, and Kelly Armstrong’s YA novels, and i am sure i will love this one as well.

    Thank you for sharing with us.

  15. Amie Says:

    AWESOME!!!!! I saw this listed on BN.com the other night but was afraid to ask. 😀

  16. musicalmom Says:

    Thanks Carrie! My youngest is 12 going on 17 (because that’s how old her next oldest sibling is) and she doesn’t want to read anything recommended by the school. Now all I have to do is make sure she doesn’t find out you’re one of my favorite authors!

  17. Markysan Says:

    Even though I’m an “old adult” (just ask my kids) I’ll buy this book. It’s awesome that you have succeeded in another market. That must be very satisfying for you. You deserve it.

  18. Robert Z Says:

    I love that your branching out with different novels. It will keep the Kitty novels fresh. I love the Kitty novels. I’m sure that I’ll love this and the others. I’ll read anything that you put out there. I can’t wait.

  19. Kendall Says:

    Cool! Dragons. It’s been a while since I’ve read anything about dragons. I’m glad to see that you’ve got something new for us. So now we wait…


  20. Very cool Carrie! You’ve got me addicted to the Kitty books, and this looks great as well. Looking forward to it. Your Wild Cards stuff is great too, so I hope to see that superhero novel also.

  21. Trai Says:

    My, my! The cover is gorgeous! (Although for me the only thing that matters is your name on it!) That’ll certainly be worth the half-hour trip to a mall with a bookstore at my college!

  22. Weasy Says:

    The cover looks lovely and I’ve always been a fan of dragons so I’m sure I’ll check it out in March.
    There are just a few authors I will willingly dip back into the young adult shelves for these days. Glad to have another. =)

  23. Caitlin Says:

    I’ll definitely check this out when it’s available!
    It’s good to know Kitty won’t be dropping of the face of the planet forever, though, I do still like her best!

  24. mythusmage Says:

    Kewl beans me dear. 🙂

    Speaking of near future mythology linked apocalypses, have you read Greg van Eekhout’s Norse Code yet?

  25. Gillian Says:

    I think I’ve said it before, but it stands repeating: if you write it, I will read it. So, it’s about 237 days, 22 hours, 11 minutes and 50 seconds at least until I can get my hands on your new book, assuming that it’s available at 9am on the 1st March.

    Not that I’m counting down at all, you understand…

  26. Benjamin Says:

    Congratulations! I look forward to reading it. 🙂

  27. Jenn Says:

    Nice!

    Hope you’re having fun at the workshop.

  28. drey Says:

    Oh yay! I love the cover! Can’t wait for March…

  29. Rita J. Webb Says:

    If I had one question to ask you, it would be if you have fights with your characters as I hear many authors do. Sounds like you just answered my question. I can hear it now: “I’m going to decide how old I am, and if you don’t like it, I’ll ruin your entire story.”

  30. carriev Says:

    Well, it’s not quite like that. If I’m on the wrong track, the characters just kind of stop…the story doesn’t move forward anymore.

    I don’t fight with the characters, I just try to listen to them.

  31. Sasha Says:

    Love the cover Art and can’t wait to hear more about the book.


Leave a Reply

