FAQ: Are you going to kill off Ben?

March 13, 2009

I’ve been getting this one a lot lately, which amuses me.  People seem to think this is an obvious move, because of the trauma it would cause, and novels are all about trauma, right?

But since when have I ever done the obvious in my books?

So no, I have no plans to kill off Ben.  Because I think it’s MUCH more interesting to keep him around, causing trouble.

20 Responses to “FAQ: Are you going to kill off Ben?”

  1. Antonio Rich Says:

    It’s funny…I have the same conversation w/another fine author, on her web page – except her main character’s love life is fraught with problems. Her readers want the character to meet her soul mate. NOW. I guess it’s ultimately a question of being true to the character and entertaining the reader in a way that makes sense. Avoiding predictability. It sounds like you have plans for ALL your characters, including Ben. That’s all we can ask, right?

  2. Mom Says:

    Kitty has so much trauma – doesn’t she deserve to have something nice and supportive in her life?

  3. carriev Says:

    Mom, you only say that because you’ve read #7.

  4. Jakk Says:

    To be honest, the thought of killing Ben DID go off in my head..along with the “not doing the obvious” speech you have used with describing Kitty and her world. I also see why people would wonder: All the friction between Ben and Kitty in book 6 seemed to be a pre-cursor of things to come.

    2 quick questions:
    1)Picked up the Mammoth Book of Paranormal Romance yesterday and mostly finished with it. Loved the story you did, despite the sad feeling it left me. Any chance of seeing Robin again in other books?

    2) Any chance of seeing a collection of old/new short stories written by you? A “Kitty’s Tales of the Midnight Hour”?

  5. nightdragon62 Says:

    I personally wish Ben a long and happy life. And I hope that includes his marriage with Kitty. I also hope Cormac gets released. I know its not going to happen overnight. But I’m hoping.

    Have a Good Weekend.

  6. musicalmom Says:

    I hope Ben sticks around for a good, long time. I really like the way he grew even more into “wolfhood” (?) – sorry, I’m not quite sure how to word that – in Kitty Raises Hell. He’s doing a lot of developing, and I agree with Mom – Kitty deserves at least one good, stable thing in her life.

    I’d like to second what Jakk asked about a compilation of Kitty-related short stories. I looked for back issues of Realms of Fantasy for the Cormac/Ben story and had no luck. It would be great to have them all in one place.

  7. Doruk Says:

    Yay!

    What about serious maiming? >.>

  8. Grace Allensworth Says:

    I think there loads of possibilities without Ben around, I mean that would leave Kitty and Cormac together, I think I like that.

  9. Robert Z Says:

    Yea I love Kitty and Ben. I really didn’t want him to die. Was that really your mom? Also to Grace I think Ben is much better than Cormac for Kitty. But I would like to see Cormac and Det. Hardin become closer. She could straighten Cormac out on the right path and he could teach her what he knows about the paranormal.

  10. carriev Says:

    Yes, that’s really my Mom.

    I’m hoping to put a collection together someday.

    I’m glad you liked the Mammoth story! I think Robin is still out there, she might show up someday.

  11. Robbie Says:

    hey, carrie. well, i’m just wondering whatever’s gonna happen with kitty and cormac, cause in the first book, and in the third (before the ben thing) it kinda seemed like kitty really liked cormac. and im actually kinda hoping that kitty will devorce ben and end up with cormac. no offence, ben. but cormac’s always been my favorite.

  12. Moishe Moose Says:

    Hey, Cormac *is* great but I’m glad she has Ben. He brings a balance to Kitty’s life, a stability with a lasting quality. Yeah, I’ll love seeing more about Cormac & am so curious to see where this “ghost” stuff at the prison will take us in the future. I was fortunate enough to get a back-issue of the Realms of Fantasy (by calling their customer service number) with the short story about Ben & Cormac as teenagers … AWESOME stuff! I think a collection would be fantastic, too.

    By the way, HI to Carrie’s mom. You must grin from ear to ear when you see all the gushing things we say about her on here! 🙂

  13. Mom Says:

    I am thrilled with Carrie’s success. She has worked long and hard for it. It’s lots of fun hearing the nice things everyone says!

  14. Stacey Says:

    I like Ben, but I LOVE Cormac!

  15. Wolo Says:

    THANK YOU! Thank you for not killing him off and loading her up with a bevy of boyfriends and a book that’s really an endless parade of sex scenes. No, seriously, thank you. I’m tired of that crap. I’m glad Ben is sticking around, he’s a great character and it’s nice to see the two of them happy together. Cormac was/is a great character as well, but Kitty with Ben is a nice change and they work. (Note: I haven’t read Raises Hell so I don’t know anything about the friction between Ben and Kitty being mentioned.)

  16. Brandy P Says:

    Yes, I miss Kitty and Cormac

  17. Weasy Says:

    Ben’s always been a favorite of mine. I’m glad you’re not going to kill him off. I want their marriage to last despite the times when they argue because that’s how it happens in real life; people argue but that doesn’t mean you can’t make it work.

    I like the suggestion someone made of Cormac with Det. Hardin. That would be fun to see.

  18. alana Says:

    I don’t like the relationship with Ben because it was too circumstantial and relied entirely on his being turned into a werewolf (a perfect example is when people get married only because they got pregnant).

    With Cormac it was the exact opposite. Everything about the situation should have pushed him and Kitty apart and yet they still felt connected to one another. I think that’s why their relationship resonates more deeply with me.

    Just my two cents.

  19. Katy Says:

    I see Ben as a confident and realistic man (ok, he is a lawyer).Before the wolf thing, they had a business relationship and he also knew that his best friend Cormac had a interest about her. This was all to keep him away from her. When they got closer it was obvious the chemistry between them. Kitty althought being a werewolf and all things that she has to face in her life is very much insecure about herself and seems to think that she can´t have love from a man like Ben. I think that he is convinced that they belong together, he just have to say it out loud. Cormac was passion and Ben is love, she never would change Ben for Cormac. It is time to give Ben a credit, because he is the one who is helping Kitty going strong at each book.

    Please Carrie keep them together!!!

  20. taryn Says:

    I really loved the kitty/cormac relationship. It saddens me to see it not develop the way ir was hinted at in the beginning. That relationship had more fire to it than the kitty/ben one. Please bring it back!


Leave a Reply

