Mile Hi Con

October 24, 2008

I’m heading out to Mile Hi Con this weekend. As Toastmaster, I’ll be talking lots and doing lots of panels. I’m even going to try a special presentation of “Songs that will never appear on a Kitty playlist.” We’ll see how that goes.

I’m still watching “Life on Mars.” It’s growing on me, though I have an urge to go back to watch the BBC one to compare. They’re doing what I hoped they’d do, which is deal with specifically American issues like the Vietnam war, etc. It’s a bit heavy handed, but I’m asking questions and trying to figure things out. I have some ideas… And I have to be fond of any show that makes a “Soylent Green” joke.

4 Responses to “Mile Hi Con”

  1. Adele Says:

    what is soylent green? Educate a Brit. 🙂
    Also, am practically drooling to lay my paws on the new Kitty books, they can’t come out quick enough.

  2. Gordon Says:

    I won’t spoil the film for you, google it if you must.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Soylent_Green (don’t read the plot or the other later sections if you want to see the film and get it’s full impact.

    Charleston Heston in an amusingly over-earnest-scenery-chewing form (though now where as Hestony as he was in Planet of the Apes or Omega Man) in the wonderfully dated and somewhat silly movie set in 1972’s vision of an immensely overcrowded earth in 1999. Some great visuals of riot control of angry crowds by using vehicles with front-mounted metal scoops to scoop up and dump people in the back for containment.

    Edward G Robinson’s last living performance was the best part of the film. Great use of classical music in an unforgettable scene near the end. The phrase using “Soylent Green…” has become a punchline for many an entertainment show or personal conversation ever since then.

    Well worth the rental.

  3. Doruk Says:

    Soylent Green is….

    Nah, I will be nice and won’t spoil it. However, I thought this was supposed to be one of those spoiler than can no longer be spoiled like “It was his sled”, “Darth Vader is Luke’s father” or “Bruce Willis is dead”.

  4. carriev Says:

    Soylent Green, the movie, came out in 1973 which is why it popped up on Life on Mars.


Leave a Reply

