in the mail today…

October 23, 2008

So, I lost my horse Rosie about four and a half years ago now. I kind of gave up horses entirely for a while, because I just didn’t want to deal with the emotions. I moved a few months later, and none of my horse magazines and catalogs followed me, which was just as well. I can only assume that my former housemates, knowing how I was feeling, threw them out.

So imagine my surprise today when I found a State Line Tack catalog in my mailbox. Addressed me and everything, so they’ve finally caught up with me. I can’t remember the last time I looked at one of these, and I actually thought, “Huh, cool. I think I’ll flip through it.” And I was so proud of myself for looking at all the horsey stuff — blankets, bridles, saddles, riding books and shirts, brushes and bandages — and thinking, “Cool” and not breaking down. I thought I was going to get through the whole catalog without breaking down. I almost did.

Then, in the last few pages, I started crying and couldn’t stop. Not really sure why.  So I guess I haven’t quite moved on.

8 Responses to “in the mail today…”


  1. I have the same reaction when I see a brindle husky. Topaz was here with me only a short time, but it’s still hard.

  2. Jessica Says:

    So sorry to hear that. 😦 Losing loved ones is so hard. Even years later, sometimes… you just lose it. The upside is knowing that we do it because we care and love so much. It makes me feel a little better when I think about that part.

  3. Helen Says:

    I still feel sad walking past the cat food in the supermarket.
    RIP Lucky.

  4. Doruk Says:

    *hugs*

  5. Chavah Says:

    I was just talking about Rosie yesterday and therefore thinking about both of you.

    A co-worker’s name is Rosida, but some people call her Rosie. Yesterday I told her that I could never call her Rosie because for me that names belongs to a beautiful horse who passed away. She told me, that’s ok, I could keep calling her Rosida. 🙂

    So, hugs to you! Here’s to keeping Rosie’s memory alive.

  6. Olivia Says:

    Hugs,

    After about 10 years of missing having animals arround John and I have 2 fantastic Maine Coons. I love them to bits and they have brought so much life and fun into the house but I still catch myself thinking ‘What If’.

    P.S. come meet them, hint hint 🙂

  7. Adele Says:

    I haven’t ridden in 14 years, since my lovely welsh cob was put down. Doesn’t really appeal in the same way since then.

  8. carriev Says:

    I have discovered equestrian travel — riding in beautiful countryside without getting emotionally attached to the horse.


Leave a Reply

