an unexpected discovery

October 19, 2008

I picked up some chapstick the other day. I usually get cherry flavored, but this time I tried strawberry. You know what I discovered? Strawberry chapstick tastes like the 70s! You know those big tubes of lip gloss that used to be so cool? Yeah, just like that!

Or it could be just me.

13 Responses to “an unexpected discovery”


  1. I have the same reaction to the 80s and A&W Cream Soda.

  2. Doruk Says:

    Whereas the elevator in our building smells like the water pistols I used to have as a kid. How relevant this is to the current discussion remains to be seen 😛

  3. carriev Says:

    How sense is tied to memory is actually a pretty big topic in neuroscience. It’s just funny what senses trigger what memories. One of the military daycare centers I stayed at when I was very young had a very specific antiseptic/cleaner smell. To this day I can smell it and have a flashback.

  4. Adam. Says:

    Kind of like the 80s and Denmark

    I swear, the whole country is just a jump to the left…

  5. Ty Says:

    Tang. Tang tastes like the 70’s.

  6. carriev Says:

    Tang tastes like SPACE.

    Pink and green sweaters make me think of the 80s.

  7. Doruk Says:

    Since I am doing a PhD in the neuroscience of visual learning, yes, I know a bit about senses and their relationship to memory >.>

  8. Bradford Says:

    How come everybody remembers Tang but nobody remembers Space Food Sticks? Of course, Space Food Sticks were really awful. Maybe it’s a selective memory thing.

  9. carriev Says:

    Ah, Doruk, I guess you would… Neuroscience is one of my pet (light) research projects. Been doing reading on stuff like OCD, dystonia, and synesthesia and how physical experience affects the actual structure of the brain. Wicked cool stuff.

  10. jackie Says:

    My son has a non verbal learning disability. It is in the area of spatial relationships. It took him forever to learn to write. And he still is very reluctant to draw because it’s so hard for him. So the question is – does he see the world differently, or is it just his ability to express it that is different?

  11. Ty Says:

    “Tang tastes like SPACE.”

    Hmmmmm…

    And we stopped doing any serious space exploration in the 70’s. A connection?

  12. carriev Says:

    I wouldn’t say we stopped doing serious space exploration (Hubble and Mars come to mind). Serious manned space exploration, maybe.

    Do they even sell Tang anymore?

  13. Ty Says:

    Space exploration that includes the people who need to drink Tang. Hubble is awesome, but it doesn’t like orange flavored drinks. The Mars rovers are so cool I would actually believe they are powered by Tang fusion reactors.

    And yes, Emily’s husband Trevor drinks Tang. They still sell it. I have no idea where he gets it though.

    PS How can you call it ‘serious’ space exploration when it doesn’t include square jawed Heinleinian rocketmen in shiny silver outfits?


Leave a Reply

