I voted!

October 17, 2008

I dropped off my mail-in ballot today at the county clerk’s office. Woot!

The first four times I voted it was absentee, because I was at school elsewhere. The first time I voted in person was at the Palmer Lake Town Hall. Palmer Lake is a little town on the outskirts of Monument, which is on the outskirts of Colorado Springs. I liked living there — I rented a little cabin near the Pike National Forest. It was kind of magical. The town hall is an old building with a scuffed hardwood floor, a little stage with an American flag posted on one side and a Colorado flag on the other. When I arrived on election day, I felt like I’d stepped into a Norman Rockwell painting.

Although I’ve always loved the energy and excitement of voting on election day, I’ve voted by mail in the last couple of elections. This year especially I’m glad, because with the insane number of ballot measures we have it took me an hour to go over everything.

3 Responses to “I voted!”

  1. Todd Says:

    Glad to hear you voted! Wish more people would, especially the idiots who bitch and moan about the government and politicians but haven’t cast a ballot in years. Makes me wanna smack ’em with something heavy…

    I voted early myself. The Public Safety Building in Boise is set up for voters to take care of business early, so in order to avoid the Republican stampede to the polls I went in last week. Glad I did. Idaho has switched to new ballots that look like standardized tests from high school, where you fill in a bubble with a pen instead of the old punch cards/hanging chad ballots. Since they are new, and we have a lot of people and issues to vote for this year, it took longer than I expected. Plus the voting people have to explain it all since it’s new, so voting is gonna take longer than ever. Ugh. I felt like a kid again trying to keep within the lines of the little bubbles with my pen. Hope the few I ran over don’t screw up my vote!

  2. Griggk the goblin Says:

    So, it’s the morning of the Big Day, and I’ve made the most distasteful decision of my life.

    I’ll be voting for Barack Obama.

    Do I think he’s the best man for the job? Hell, no.

    I’ll grant that he says a lot of pleasant things. But talk is worthless. Barry Bonds can talk about playing clean and drug-free. Senator Edwards can talk about fidelity and family values. Obama…well, Obama can talk about what kind of government he thinks he can create. All words. Obama has promised us everything but candy and foot-massages.

    I don’t think he can deliver. I don’t think the smarmy, self-serving, over-charismatic, over-conceited professional politician is even aware of what he’s getting into. I fully expect to see an ineffectual presidency, where Congress steamrolls right through the White House, raising taxes and spending it on bullshi…uhm, pork-barrel projects for the next four years.

    However…

    McCain and Co. sits in a position to stack the Supreme Court, and toss us back into an era where teenage girls die from back-alley abortions. They seem to believe that government needs to define “marriage”, and their definition would prevent many loving, deserving couples from receiving the same benefits as their neighbors. That, my friends, is discrimination. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again…If Tracy and Chris love each other, and are willing to stand together as a couple and a family, it’s none of my business what gender Tracy or Chris may be…and none of my government’s business, either.

    Being a heterosexual male, issues like abortion and gay marriage don’t really touch me. However, they impact the lives of my neighbors…and voting responsibly means doing what’s right for everyone, not just what’s right for me.

    America can survive a President afflicted with incompetence…we’ve done it before. Better incompetence, I say, than “Good Intentions”, for we’ve seen where those can lead.

  3. carriev Says:

    Griggk, those are my hot button topics as well, and the very points that make a McCain/Palin administration unthinkable. I’d rather have another four of W. As a woman who would like to keep her right to choose, I thank you for your vote.

    But I also have high hopes for an Obama administration, even if those hopes are irrational. Young blood, someone running explicity on a message of hope rather than fear. This is the first election I’ve ever put a sticker on my car or worn a button or given money. I want to live in Obama’s world. And in the immortal words of Miles Vorkosigan: “Aim high. You may still miss the target but at least you won’t shoot your foot off.”


Leave a Reply

