a couple of new stories

July 23, 2014

Harry and Marlowe Versus the Haunted Locomotive of the Rockies is now live on Lightspeed!  The entire issue is available for purchase as well.  This is the fifth Harry and Marlowe story.  A sixth is on the way.  The series continues apace!

I have another new story available.  This may take some explaining.  You might have heard of Amazon’s Kindle Worlds program.  Essentially, officially sanctioned and licensed fanfiction.  It turns out, G.I. Joe is one of the franchises involved with this.  Several astute readers brought this to my attention.  Then a couple of months ago, WordFire Press came to me with a proposal that began, “So, we hear you’re a fan of G.I. Joe.”

You can probably guess where this is going.

Behold:  G.I. Joe: Luck Be a Lady.  A story by me.

So that exists now.  It was a lot of fun to do.  My guiding principle:  I wanted it to feel exactly like an episode of the cartoon, with everything that entails, but with commentary.  There are easter eggs.  The unexpected thing I discovered:  The Baroness is an absolute hoot to write.  I had so much fun with her point of view.  Because you see, she isn’t really loyal to Cobra.  She actually doesn’t give much of a rat’s ass about Cobra, or Cobra Commander, or world domination.  She just wants to see everything burn.  She wants to create havoc and destruction.  Cobra lets her do that more than anything else does, so she sticks around.  But I’m talking 100% chaotic evil — in a PG universe.  And that’s crazy.  I just love it.

 

One Response to “a couple of new stories”

  1. Toni Says:

    I’ve never been a GI Joe kinda gal. (well, okay, I enjoy the movies, but hubby has to explain a lot of the back story.) I just read the “Look Inside” on Amazon, and fell in love with the characters. In what – a page? Well done!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 361 other followers