this week in short story releases

June 20, 2014

I had TWO short stories released this week!

“Salvage,” a direct result of my rage at the movie Sunshine, is now live at Lightspeed.  It’s part of the much-heralded “Women Destroy Science Fiction” issue, which you can buy online and in print, and has lots and lots of bonus material.  Check it out!

Rogues, the latest multi-genre anthology edited by George R.R. Martin and Gardner Dozois, was also released this week.  It includes my story “Roaring Twenties,” about a speakeasy where things aren’t what they seem.  It’s a different kind of story for me and was a lot of fun to write.

I caught the last half of the new SyFy series Dominion, not because I thought it would be good, but because it was on.  The premise of this is post-apocalyptic angels versus humans, with zombie-angel-humans thrown in, or something, but what I thought was really hysterical was this was basically The Stand in reverse — the human characters are all in Las Vegas, and I’m assuming they will eventually go after the chief bad guy, who is holed up in “the mountains above Boulder.”  From some reason this completely cracked me up.  Alas, I will not be finding out what happens next because not even Anthony Head could save this derivative and nonsensical mess.

2 Responses to “this week in short story releases”

  1. A.J. Colby Says:

    I felt pretty underwhelmed by Dominion as well. It’s supposed to be a continuation of the story told in the movie Legion (starring Paul Bettany) which I actually quite enjoyed. So far though Dominion feels like a bit of a let down. I didn’t find myself engaged by the story and wasn’t invested in the characters. I didn’t care if any of the them lived or died, and that, in my opinion, is an indication of poor storytelling.

  2. Ray Dean Says:

    so happy you’re in the Lightspeed anthology!! you ROCK :D


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 352 other followers